"Days and Nights" (Detail) by Matthew Holden Bates

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

"Days and Nights" (Detail)

Oil on Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

This painting goes back almost all of the way to my beginnings as a painter, early 90's, when I first moved to Firenze. It is also a space painting, but more like a time painting, I remember being very excited when I got the idea for this one. Each square is intermingled with a night and a day, going on forever. This is a theme that I have not explored very much, but I think that I might go back there someday.

Here is the entire painting. Keep in mind that the painting is hung from the top corner and the black background (without stars) is not part of the actual painting:

Seven Days and 7 Nights.jpg

"Days and Nights" Oil on Canvas / ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

I am enjoying going through my portfolio here on nTopaz, selecting my favorite details to show you. If you are enjoying my artwork, and I hope you are, I invite you to follow me on Steemit @matteopaints and to visit my official website to see more of my original paintings. If you have any questions, or would just like to say hi, leave a comment below and I'll get right back to you!

A presto, Matteo

Sort:  

It is very good idea. Mondrianistic expression it is! Very unique. Show us more ~

[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators are for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform. <a href=https://discord.gg/bycktuE%22%3EJoin nTopaz Discord Channel

Yes it is Mondrianistic! I had never thought of that!!! Thanks!! :)

I like this proposal, it seems to me as a portal for the position of the forms, it takes my look inwards. You have done an impeccable job with the clouds, they look very realistic!
A different but interesting proposal!

I share the idea with you to stop ntopaz as a portfolio too. Greetings Matteo and thanks for sharing!


[nTopaz Curator]

This comment from the curator is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.

You can find out more in our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks!! nTopaz Rules!! :)

Oh, this one is a little modern minimalistic, which is quite unusual from you, Matteo :) I like it, there is a nice rhythm in the composition, a balanced feel between the night and day sections <3 And I love how it stretches away forever from us as it recedes into its center :) Wonderful piece <3

Thank you! This is a very different type of painting, from a long time ago.

It is an interesting painting, looks like two completely different paintings but after cutting the spaces were put one on the other, because the sky and clouds have their continuity. The one must have great imagination. Beautifully done :)

Yes two different paintings in one, a juxtaposition of ideas to show the passage of time. I was really into painting the sky back then.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09