Digital portrait painting with process shots

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0This is my newest digital portrait that i painted using photoshop and wacom intous small graphic tablet.
I chose a model's picture from pinterest for this one. I think this are called photo study.
You can see the model's picture on the left top corner in the process shots. I won't say i was able to completely capture the face structure of him.
But i am really happy with the hair. I thought that messy hair would be really difficult to paint but i saw some tutorials and used those knowledge to portray this.

Enjoy.

Process shots with description:

I start by building up some structure. Its very rough and barely understandable, but easy to realize where the facial features would go.
Screenshot (679).png

Then i sketch out the facial features.
Screenshot (680).png

Then i start blocking in some layers with colors. I will be using different layers to get the best outcome.
Screenshot (681).png

I start putting some darker and lighter colors on the skin to define the shape.
Screenshot (682).png

I start working on the eyes, and keep shading the face as i go
Screenshot (683).png

I put even darker colors on the skin to define the lights better. Next i will start working on the lips

Screenshot (684).png

Then i work on the lips and the hair and the cloths. I finish with some color corrections

Screenshot (685).png

Screenshot (686).png

Screenshot (687).png

Screenshot (688).png

portrait12.jpg
THANK YOU FOR VISITING MY BLOG

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very good!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77