Unfinished Soul | Oil Painting

in #ntopaz5 years ago

ntopaz-image-0


'Unfinished Soul'
Oil on Canvas
2016


I started painting this in 2015. Abandoned months later. Continued painting again in 2016 but left unfinished.

I guess because I am an unfinished soul, and I will be forever a work in progress.



'Unfinished Soul' was the earlier version of this painting:

From Weakness to Strength HB WBG.jpg

I wasn't that confident to show my art (which contains my naked body - I was 18!) back then, so decided to create that second piece with clothes on :P



Back to the 'Unfinished Soul', that painting is much more personal to me than the other painting. First of all, the piece is inspired by Gustav Klimt's 'The Kiss'. When I was around 8 years old, we always visited the doctor because of my disease back then. They had a hard time figuring out what kind of disease landed on me that's why the cyst on my neck won't go away.

At the doctor's clinic, there was this print of 'The Kiss' hanging on the wall. As a kid who knew nothing about art, I always wondered what that painting means. I thought the piece was lovely, of course. So every time I see Klimt's painting, I always remembered that moment of going back to the doctor to help me find the cure for the curse... and that moment I knew that painting became my symbol of healing.

Being naked in the painting symbolizes my vulnerability and how fragile I am. My subconscious mind knows that I got a trauma because of that disease and that I was touched in some areas of my body, so since then, I felt naked all the time.

I don't know the reason why I didn't finish this painting, probably because I was remembering those moments, making me frustrated while doing the painting.

I don't have any plans on finishing it and that is the reason you don't see my signature on it (only the hiddenblade watermark). The abandonment became a significant part of the painting itself. And I guess that makes me different from other artists.

Sort:  

Seeing at first and without reading thought it was part of your larger painting and took me by surprise.
But it is a stand alone:)Magnificent concept and the style is a true representative of the Fauvism movement. It is one of my favourite 20th century art movements:) Thank you for sharing your story about your connection with the Kiss it helped me appreciate better your artwork.

I have unfinished business too, sometimes it this which keeps me going.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You are always so brave, hiddi :) Baring your vulnerabilities and bare forms are courageous acts and more than that, you captured these in your artistic creations :) I admire that very much~

I kinda like that it is "Unfinished" also... it really syncs well with that fact that most of us are always going to be 'working in progress' pieces, doesnt it :D

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.

When it came up in my feed I thought there was a little Klimt in it. Got a fauvist edge to it though. I like it better than the more recent one although it is less "accomplished".

It's clear to me that you are an actual artist on here rather than a wannabe.

It is the same thing but, in color. More about that toward the end of this comment. Yeah, found the link.(finally) You never told me it was in a separate comment. You said it was below it, which made me think it was a reply to my comment, which ironically, is where you commented about the link you shared which is probably where you should of put the link from the start. Almost like you didn't want me to find it? You could of easily recopied the link and pasted it under my reply after I asked you, "where's the link?" Communication breakdowns are a bitch, aren't they? Still, I have seen this very same style of portraits in so many art shows/fairs during my travels. It is nice but, nothing to write home about. Reminds me of an artist I used to know in KC who, would you guess it? Does not enjoy accolade or success that you seem to enjoy. It really has to do with "who you know" versus, "being a good artist" doesn't it? Otherwise, all artists who have this same style would be doing just fine and dandy. Again, good work, but still doesn't seem to have any meaning, imagination, nor does it inspire me to do anything. The intense red makes me want to walk away. I guess other folk just focus on how the people sort of look like, um, people and call it good? That red is just way too dominant and it gives me the same feeling as being inside of a fast food place, which uses that same red to urge customers to quickly eat then leave. Just my critique. It is something you have to deal with being an artist. Not everyone is going to be willing to brown-nose you and bask, vicariously, in your realm of success. Nor is every person going to have their jaw drop because your people look like, people. If that is what made a true piece of art, then there would be no "starving artist". Thanks for sharing. Sorry again for the issue with the link. That was a two way street. At any rate, best to you and I am getting the fuck off of this platform just as soon as one more thing happens. Thank God. This year on here has been the most pointless time of my life, which has made me bitter. Oh well, best to be truthful and bitter than fake and happy I suppose? Enjoy the economic collapse. Your art won't get you anywhere when that happens. I suggest you learn to grow some food if you haven't already. Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87