[CR] Drawing a Dragon - Coloring Practice

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0


Hello again my dear friends!

I've been a bit absent these last few days, but I've come back and kept practicing with my Prismacolor colored pencils, I'm really touched by the smoothness and ease with which they blend.

For that reason, I wanted to practice a little drawing a wonderful creature, using different tones to achieve a colorful texture in the dragon's skin, although being sincere I love the result of the coloring of the rocks that I place in the corners, I am very pleased in them.

Materials:

  • Opaline Cardboard 180 gr (A4)
  • Graphite pencil HB
  • Black gel pen
  • Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils
  • Eraser
  • Approximate duration: 13 hours

-Step 1:

I started with a soft sketch, drawing strokes with the help of the HB pencil.

ntopaz-image-1

-Step 2:

I then proceeded with the coloring, focusing on the dragon's head and using a gel pen to delineate the horns.

ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3

-Step 3:

The rest of the skull consisted of soft strokes with orange, brown and blue tones trying to mix them with each other, I have also tried to achieve some sparkles between the scales.

ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5

-Step 4:

It's time to start coloring the body; on the neck draw some large scales, adding some greenish tones between them, on your torso apply the same technique but darken the area more. Also, color the wings, this time use more oranges and pinks (in the largest wing) for the bottom use a gray base in order to give more depth.

ntopaz-image-6ntopaz-image-7

-Step 5:

Finally it was time to color the background, I have to admit that these large areas have never been my forte and I practically didn't know what to draw on it, so I added a little green here, a little blue there and I didn't like it at all, until I decided to draw a couple of rocks in the foreground and I tell you again, I love how the coloring turned out because when I tried to draw them in digital I couldn't do them satisfactorily.

ntopaz-image-8

I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better observe the step by step.

http://picasion.com/
http://picasion.com/

Copyright @hadley4

Thank you for your support

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Awesome work! Yeah, Prismacolors are da best! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and resteemed.

They are pure love, in total I have 48 of these pencils and the possibilities in the drawing are immense with them.
Thank you for admiring my artwork :D
DSC_0085.jpg

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Este post ha sido votado por @celfmagazine. Un proyecto de curación y revista digital de arte y cultura.

This post has been upvoted by @celfmagazine. A curation project and digital art and culture magazine.

discord_server_celffacebook_page_celffacebook_page_celf

Thank you for support :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Very nice drawing of a ferocious dragon, @hadley4 :) I think this post didn't quite get posted through to nTopaz though :( It is a glitch that sometimes happen to people :(

What a fantastic creature! Ready to shoot fire! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98