Today's Sketch Animals in chairs: Yorkies

in #ntopaz6 years ago

ntopaz-image-0Today's sketch for a new piece:

The entire sketch
jan31yorkiesketch.jpg

I was missing my Animals in Chairs series this morning.

It was a popular series and when I created it, it was lovely knowing each morning the guidelines I had set for myself. It gave a sort of focus with creative freedom attached.

I often find that given oneself perimeters or focus in which to stretch your creativity is such a useful mode to approach art.

In the restrictions of animals/dogs and chairs (both things I love) the resulting subject matter and final affect used to create it are open and free but that bit of order in the chaos that Can be art really helps me out.

Returning to Black and White drawings of late has helped me to realize how much I crave the focus.

So, this morning, rather than finishing another black and white piece, I began dreaming of more images I would like to add to my body of work in the Animal Chair series. It was a fun headspace to be in.

Thus today we have a sketch that will be most likely in my style I have used for my other animals in chairs.

Here is just one example of that series.
nov17sophie.jpg

This one was based on my own beloved Italian Greyhound Sophie.

And I loved playing with more three dimensional painting on the dog but a more flat graphic play of colour with the chair and background.

In many ways these were also a way for me to play with colour pairings, which I always love to do. And I think this yorkie piece I sketched today might be in this same sort of pinkish family, we'll see.

I'll do a watercolour study of it before the final piece and I'll share that as well.

It will be where I can play with some colour ideas.

Well, I am off to another busy day. I was able to get to some of my favourite posts this morning, but I'm sure I'm still missing out many of you. I hope to rectify that a bit each morning.

I also hope you all have a lovely day and a chance to connect and to create. And for MUCH of the USA, stay warm and safe! It is cold out there for much of the country!

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: Today's Black and White Drawing Frisky Frenchies

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely dogs you have there. Well done sketch


[nTopaz Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thanks @axeman so much. I do love dogs, both in life and in art :)

[nTopaz Curator]

Such a beautifully delicate sketch. Look forward to seeing it in watercolour and then the final painting as well now Donna. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

⚖️ S H I N E ⚖️ Y O U R ⚖️ L I G H T ⚖️
JOIN nTOPAZ DISCORD

Thanks @allyinspirit. Normally I'd do a sketch and study in one, but have been to busy with obligations to do so, but I'm determined to still fit it in and I'll hopefully get to a watercolour version this morning.

I am a huge fan of your black and white series but i would love to see the cute workshires in colour:)

Aw thanks @georgeboya they will, indeed, end up in colour :) I've been needing a bit of colour lately anyway.

One can clearly see, you love dogs!

That is an understatement @johano :)

so seet yorkies!!! I like them so much and, sure, I love all the dogs in your artworks ^_^

Thanks @silviabeneforti ! I hope you had a splendid birthday yesterday!

I do love dogs both in artwork and in real life.

Yes!! I love your animals in chairs series! Super excited to see it continue!! And I am a huge fan of -as you mentioned- the juxtaposition of flat graphic look with the additional detail on the dog. I am playing around with similar ideas in my sketchbook lately and really enjoying it. :) Cheers!

Thanks @caitycat . That's cool that you were exploring similar ideas. I think we artists sort of live in an out of time/space area sometimes and we all influence one another no matter how far apart we all are in space or even time. I know I've had lovely afternoon 'chats' with artist dead 100 years ;)

I'll probably try this piece with a decorative background and foreshortened chair, we shall see, first I'll watercolour today to decide on my colour palette. I love being an artist, most of the time that is :)

It's an incredible sketch and the puppies are so cute. I like this series.
Practice is good, you will improve your skills.

Thanks @yanes94 Yes daily practice is always important. I at least sketch on a napkin or in a journal each day if I am out and haven't studio time.

I'm hoping to get to some colour with it today.

You always surprise us, we love that your publications have such a clean and orderly structure. Also, we love your style, those puppies are too adorable. It's a pleasure to see such talented and creative people on the platform :D

Thanks so much @cafeconleche and thanks for calling it clean and orderly, as sometimes I feel a bit scattered, but I do try ;)

Naww they're all adorable :D That mixed shading one works a lot better than a description of it would suggest XD

Thanks @ryivhnn I've been retreating to my black and whites but I was really itching to get back to colour, I just have to spread it out into more days as I've been so busy with other things. :)

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 comments. Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42