My 2nd. finished piece for the New Year: Retriever

in #ntopaz6 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0 My second New Year Piece finished:Retrievers in motion.

Here is the entire piece without the Steemit crop:

jan4art.jpg

Here is it at a sort of in between stage from sketch to playing with colour.
jan3retreiver1.jpg

And here is a gif of some of the layers

I began this piece the previous night and spent the bulk of yesterday working on it. I had meant to share it as yesterday's post, but it was more involved and I lost track of the day, staying in and working on it.

The irony is this piece was Just containg animals, no female form, and thus was meant to be quicker.

But as is often the case with me, I have trouble scaling back and rather over did it with the quantity of dogs and the decorative elements.

I am hoping to really hone this years work into a style that will be decorative, surely, and in a way I was picturing this as a repeat on fabric, wallpaper, and homegoods. Yet it will also be quite nice as a stand alone piece.

My next piece then will be a study in my trying a bit more simplicity.

So, we shall see what that gives up.

As I have spent more time then intended I will get this post off now. I only had a small ramble today and next week might be planning more outings, but I also need to stay on top of a schedule for my work. It has rather piled up since my move and I'm feeling more than a bit behind.

I hope you all are enjoying day 4 of the new year and I suppose soon enough we shall no longer be thinking in terms of New Year, but will just be getting on with it, as is about normal for week 2 of any January.

If you feel so inclined please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment below.

My Previous Post: Another Day on My New Years Art and Dogs

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

It looks incredible!!! how bad that instead of reducing your work time you ended up working longer than you had thought, although I think it was good since you managed to create this great work, I like the movement of the dogs and the color you gave him. < 3 <3 <3

I hope that in your next work, you can do something faster and you can advance late work.


[nTopaz Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you so much @yanes94 This is usually what I do, I mean to simplify and then I simply create more layers and detail, but I love doing it so it's a good sort of labour :)

Yes, I understand you and that is the good thing about doing the things we like and if we spend more hours we are happy with the work. :)

Such a wonderful and spirited piece, Donna ! The retriever looks absolutely lively and true to their nature in this picture <3 <3 <3 Very nice ! I wanna hug the next retriever i see hahahahah :D

Thanks @veryspider I wanted it to feel lively. And my patterning was planned, which I show in my next post. I really wanted something that would look cool mirrored and reversed.

Hehehe since you put the retrievers all in one picture, they look like they're a part of a performing circus band. Those dogs are very clever over there, I hope they are treated well because otherwise I will feel guilty for enjoying watching them. But I'm 100% guilt free with enjoying your lovely art ^_^.

Thanks @scrawly it does have a bit of a circus feel, which I kind of was going for. It's a great way for me to have as many dogs as I can imagine without having to take care of them IRL ;)

These look great and have such a fun feel good feeling to them

Keep your amazing art coming I cannot draw even a straight line but I do love your art

Thank you so much @tattoodjay I'm really going to attempt a good body of work this year :)

and I am looking forward to seeing it all ;)

I love this! :D It reminds me of my German shepherd, Sasha!

Oh sweet @beautifulbullies , although it is meant to be a Golden retriever, but I like that you could see other dogs as well, as that makes it more broadly appealing, I hope. I am working my way through many dog breeds this year so Bull dog is on the list :)

I love it. I'm a friend of retrievers!

I have a good friend that just got a small, youngish golden lab as a service dog. I just really would like to scratch her ears but it's not allowed unless I go to his house and she's out of the harness. He sure likes his doggy and already (less than 2 weeks) has more mobility. Such a cool thing.

Thanks Donna! I hope your New Year is rewarding and loving.

I know I love dogs and service dogs as well, but we musn't touch, but so hard to resist! However every other dog I met on the daily (And believe you me there are many dogs to meet here on the daily) I can't help but get down on their level and give them a good ole head rub and snuggle under the ears.

I hope your New Year is turning out wonderful as well @bigtom13.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84