[CR] Good Friends

in #ntopaz6 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

[Note: Somehow this blog post was posted twice during nTOPAZ upload process. Please, ONLY vote for one post or the other.. not both. That would not be fair. I want to play by the rules and my morals. Thanks! I apologize]

Good Friends ..

I gathered the inspiration for this piece from my love of friends and scotch. My collection of friends grows slower than my collection of whiskeys, scotches and bourbons over the years, but that's okay. It is very hard to find true friends in this world. When you find one, grab hold and never let go! You know they are there for you through the thick and the thin, and always give solid advice even when you don't want it but need it. Anyhow, not to get on a "friend" tangent.. I have a love of scotch. I have built a nice collection and like nothing more than to share my passion for the drink with anyone who will partake in a glass. It is not for everyone, but I have decided it is like beer, wine or coffee. Over time you can develop a taste for it, even if you do not like it now. Maybe you just haven't found that right one yet.

My Inspiration ..

For this piece was definitely the scotch, on the rocks, and good conversation with my good and long time friend. I used to like cigars, but have gotten away from them for some time now. I do have to admit that they pair nicely with whiskey, bourbon or in this case scotch. Plus it looks cool sitting there on top, slowly burning away as it listens in on my thoughts and conversation.

My Challenges ..

Glass is always a challenging thing to paint or draw. The more I work on my skill of drawing or painting glass, the nicer each final piece looks to me. I suppose I am improving my ability in this area. I am still improving on my shading and tonal values. I see improvement in these areas with this piece. I always dread going to dark with some of the shading, especially with watercolors. It is hard to go lighter with watercolor after it is applied. You can sometimes apply a nice hefty amount of water to a dark area and pull it out by blotting it with a paper towel, but only slightly. I can't quite seem to grasp the technique needed to pull off real looking ice cubes. This is also something I am actively working on. I don't think these cubes look too awful though. I am satisfied with my effort. Am I missing anything?? hmmmm. :-D

Progress Pictures ..

Steemit Post Link

Good Friends - Progress Photo.jpg

Overall this painting took me about 2 hours from start to finish. There were a few interruptions in there, but I was able to get a good solid amount of time into this piece.

This Painting Was Created Using ..

Is a watercolor painting
Painted on 140g Canson watercolor paper
I used Derwent Ivory Black watercolor
The painting measures roughly 5.5 inches by 7.5 inches
Again I used a small makeup brush
Of course water.. essential
Love and inspiration for art
signed with fine tip Sharpie

This Piece was uploaded to Etsy.. see link below if interested :-)

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thank you very much! I really appreciate the exposure and support from your blog. :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared and the curation collective community for your support! I appreciate it!!

Cigar and liquor! It makes me think of Mad Men, the tv series :) Nice drawing, Brad !

Love that show. It probably either influenced my drawing or the insatiable need to more than occasionally partake in the consumption of scotch. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54