[CO] Make Time To Paint ~ My 2019 New Year's Resolution

in #ntopaz6 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

I Gave This Project Some Serious Thought ..

I wanted to express my New Year's Resolution in a creative and fun way. I wanted to give this piece the ‘Time’ it deserved, because this was my New Year’s resolution.. To make the time to paint. Make the time to do something that adds joy and happiness to my life. Thus I am calling this piece, ‘Make Time To Paint’, my 2019’s New Year’s resolution.

‘Make Time To Paint’ ..

Is a pen and ink creation on a piece of smooth and heavy paper. I used a Bic liquid point, which is not merciful on a surface that is slightly rough. If there is any resistance or texture, she will snag it and splatter you an nice unexpected surprise ink blot. This is quite fin if you feel like you want to start over. HAHA. It measures the typical paper dimensions of 8.5 inches by 11 inches. From start to finish I spent approximately 6 hours creating this piece. All of that time was worth it! I absolutely LOVE the way it turned out, despite seeing the small mistakes I made. With pen and ink, it is very hard to fix any mistakes.. I just hope for small ones.

The Process ..

I started off with the idea of incorporating a pocket watch into this piece, almost immediately. I already knew that 2019’s New Year’s resolution was to find the time to paint more. What I didn’t realize was, that I didn’t need to “find” the time.. Time is always there.. I had to put aside the time or in this case “make” the time to express myself creatively through my art. My fascination with pocket watches fit right into the inspirational end of this art piece. By the end of my work day I had put enough thought into it that I eventually came to realized that HAPPY NEW YEAR had just the right amount of letters to fit into where the numbers on the watch face would sit. “H” is “1”, “A” is “2”, “P” is “3”, etc…

Incorporating Calligraphy Into The Piece ..

Made me a bit nervous. It’s been quite some time since I did calligraphy. Today it is so easy, you just pick out a digital font and go with it. I wanted to make it by hand, without a calligraphy pen. I was up to the challenge, even though it was out of my comfort zone. There is definitely fun in the challenge of something unfamiliar and new. So for this piece, Calligraphy was used with anything that was written. My resolution to the left of the watch, the letters in place of numbers on the watch face, and the new year of 2019 on the chain. My signature is the only item not in calligraphy. I was pleased with the way it turned out. I sketched each letter and number in pencil first, which lessened the nerves greatly. The use of graphite does make it easier to correct.

The Progress Photos:

Steemit Link for Photos These photos were taken throughout the process in order to give you an idea of how the piece progressed. I utilized a ruler for accurate spacing, but hand drew all of the major components, including the circles. Circles are very hard to hand sketch, but a few measured dots is all it takes for me.. And I am not going to lie, a bit of erasing. Within these photos, you will also catch a glimpse of some light guide lines. I needed to lay these in for some much needed guidance when creating the calligraphy. Otherwise, they would look unbalanced and.. How do I say this.. Like Crap. It still didn’t come out perfect, but who wants perfect? You may as well just take a picture of a watch then. Hehehe… Enjoy the progress photos! I combined them into one photo for better enjoyment :-)

Progress photos - Make Time To Paint.jpg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thank you very much! Always my pleasure to vote and support your fantastic content. I am honored to be a part of it.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This is a cool heads-up reminder - make time to paint! I reckon instead of being chained to the computer and chasing upvotes on Steemit, I guess!

Yes.. you are right! But I have to say, since joining nTOPAZ, I have been more motivated to be creative. Posting my art is something I look forward to. It does take some time commitment in order to post, and interact with all my new friends and fellow artists, but worth it. I am really enjoying my experience here so far!!

Thank you @thermoplastic!

I posted on nTopaz a few times also. Of course, motivation comes from recognition. We can't exist in vacuum. Exhibitions are a motivator too. Like, meeting people in person and seeing their interest in what you do.

Good point. I should really get connected locally and look into another outlet for my work. Or I can just be happy with keeping these works piled in my closet. Not a great choice.

Hope you're successful at making time to paint :D

I can't see any mistakes, whatever you're calling mistakes are probably things I see as adding character to the piece :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82