The Perfectly Imperfect Tree

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)


ntopaz-image-0

The Perfectly Imperfect Tree

It’s Always Been My Opinion ..

That there is nothing perfect in life. Life is filled with a lot of imperfections, me being one of those. I look at them as perfectly, imperfect characteristics of things, events and people in my imperfect journey called life. Do I always think exactly this way? The answer is no. I don’t always realize that what I do, what I say, how I feel, how I live, how I work, and how I create, doesn't have to be perfect. Maybe I am trying to be as close to perfect as possible so that any imperfections go unnoticed and unquestioned. Or maybe I believe that living without flaws is what is expected of me from society in general. Either way, I’m focused on this today and giving it some well deserved thought.

What Better Way To Express My Thoughts ..

Then through my art; my creative side. Being that it is currently only a hobby of mine, I am sometimes hypersensitive to criticism and almost always over criticize myself throughout the creative process. I can almost say with certainty, that I am not alone when feeling this way. It may very well be a part of every artist’s inner voice. Personally, I strive to create recognizable pieces which hopefully don’t bring too much attention to the fact that they are not perfect. Today, I was looking to create something recognizable and imperfect, and ended up with a piece I am calling ‘The Perfectly Imperfect Tree’.

‘The Perfectly Imperfect Tree’ ..

Like I mentioned, was specifically imagined and created by me, to be imperfect. If you have followed me for any length of time, you may have realized, at some point along the way, that I love drawing or painting trees. I fall in love with their effortless ability to be mostly symmetrical. There is something personally satisfying about creating a picture of a tree, complete with balanced limbs growing this way and that. Trees are majestic, they're stately, they’re downright amazing in so many ways, which seem to demand respect from the eye and in turn ease the troubled mind. Trees, naked and leafless, vulnerable to the elements of our environment, beckon me toward creativity. The work of art I choose to share with you today is comprised of all this I speak of and all that I don’t. It is a NOT so perfect drawing of a NOT so perfect tree. This poor tree has been through her share of turmoil and tragedy during her somewhat long life. She has weathered many a storm, losing several of her higher limbs. The painful memories are unable to be erased and unable to be recreated so quickly as to fill in and cover the vividly noticeable voids within her canopy. She is now imperfect in the reflection of what it means to be a perfect tree. Does she cast an imperfect shadow as the sunlight, of late day, filters long and wide through her uneven branches? Will the moonlight dare to touch those torn and tattered limbs with golden highlights as the frost begins to collect there? Will birds continue to roost and build homes, high in her incomplete canopy? Is she now so imperfect that I should end her life and doom her to firewood?

Not Today ..

Today I WILL recognizing and embracing imperfection. Today I WILL rise up above judgements and hateful criticism. Today I WILL show thanks for being aware of a life enthralled with uniqueness and diversity. Today, despite being imperfect, I WILL.. I Will celebrate life for what it is.. OUR right and OUR chance to be acceptably imperfect. Here’s To Imperfection!!

Enjoy The Art and Thank You for Your Support!

Items Used:

6 inch by 9 inch Drawing Pad
Number 2 Pencil
.25mm Micron 01 Pen
A Slightly Steady Hand
An Imperfect Vision of a Tree

0D417884-B4EE-4743-A049-234DA8867AAB.jpeg

The Process…

I began this piece with a simple vision of a tree that was asymmetrical. I quickly and lightly sketched it out on the white pad of paper (my sketch book). I then began to lightly apply the penned lines over the rough, pencil sketch of a tree. I continued the process by layering in the defining tonal values, being careful not to add limbs where I originally intended them not to be. This I had to strictly adhere to, otherwise my whole post would be pointless. In the end, I was left with a very strong feeling of accomplishment. I am satisfied with my imperfect work of art :-)

52E0E00A-9338-4C10-8A2F-9BBCED3FA6E5.jpeg

570B495F-6686-446B-A211-9D505639495D.jpeg

05576E7C-65A8-4C17-B8B4-AA4F37E4735E.jpeg

7DEF7D60-A817-49F9-A861-E6A0BBEA3F4B.jpeg

D8F58037-B23E-458B-9C65-407905EC708F.jpeg

683607CD-8B93-4FE1-A863-EEE95EE3DACD.jpeg

F405920D-0E4A-4728-9A30-75399D764D67.jpeg

6561A042-D12A-4922-8C96-70B5DC9CEA1B.jpeg

735798A7-B94F-4658-A536-A5330F2511B1.jpeg

EEAFC849-14C5-49D4-B2B4-A755AB4DD9A4.jpeg

7056D54B-C40E-4154-816D-D1506E65C1BF.jpeg

The finished drawing ~ ‘The Perfectly Imperfect Tree’

7CDB3B2A-45F6-4262-9FAD-1877F9B687E3.jpeg

A combination photo summarizing the entire process ..

281AD6BF-6293-4D03-9746-EB6D376642C1.jpeg

<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Facebook Shop

OR

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.


About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

~ B D Miller
..............................

Sort:  

Great in detail :)


[nTopaz Curator]

The comments from curators is for information and encouragement. The upvotes from nTopaz and rankings are based on the popularity of your art work when posted to the nTopaz platform.



Join nTopaz Discord Channel

@tipu curate

Thank you!!! That was kind and appreciated.

You're very welcome :) The tree is really cool!

Sometimes it is the imperfections that let us see clearly, the beauty of dappled sunlight on the ground or other trees, bushes, and even people, can not be achieved through a perfect canopy.

I like the tree.

Thanks 😊. Your absolutely right. Such a beautiful thing. Thanks for the support as well. I appreciate it very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43