What? It worked..?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nsfw7 years ago

Seems to be a bias on this site against certain types of art, not sure if it's digital art they don't like, or nudity, or both... some people have the notion that painting in Photoshop isn't "real" art. Perhaps they think there's a button in there that says "make cool art" or something.

KneelingNSFWLo.jpg

Well I'll tell you, it's harder to paint in Photoshop than in real life... even with the Undo button. (If you do it like I do it, starting with an empty canvas, sketch, then paint. The only thing that's easier is cleaning the brushes.)

I know because I've done it all - gouache, acrylic, oil, pastel, airbrush, ink, charcoal, you name it. I started as a commercial illustrator in the 80's. And it's true, you do have more freedom in digital, but that extra freedom is dangerous - it holds many temptations, illusions and confusions. For instance to add too much detail.

I started this one with a sketch, as I usually do.

KneelingWIP1.jpg

This is a little while later

KneelingWIP2.jpg

And the finished result. I hope you like it. Would be nice to get a comment or two as well, let me know what you think. Been getting almost 0 for everything I've posted so far except my intro. I know I'm a noob but this is getting ridiculous. :) If you hate it, let me know why and I'll try to find something different to post next time.

KneelingNSFWLo.jpg

Sort:  

This is incredible work! You have beautiful shadows and highlights and I can tell how much effort went into this. I think people just need to find you. Don't give up, post consistently and I'm sure you'll be a success here.

Thanks! Like your suggestion in Discord, to expand on the thought process, I will try to give more details next time. Like for instance with this one, one of the challenges was indeed the lighting, and also the anatomy of the unusual pose, for this I used a 3D program (Maya) to model a female body, pose it and do lighting tests. I will write more about this in the future. Meanwhile here's a similar female body I sculpted in ZBrush
https://steemit.com/nsfw/@stahlberg/zbrush-sculpture

your work is amazing and it should have more visibility, I will resteem it hoping more people reach it and will follow for more :)
try trailbycomics, it is an amazing contest that offers grate visibility and they have a discord channel too
you probably know about Art Explosion by now because I found your article at @juliakponsford blog, my work was curated by her and it literally grew my account :)

Generally speaking your payouts have nothing to do with the quality of your art (I admit that is an over simplification) - making money on steemit is done by joining groups, creating relationships and finding dolphins and whales who are willing to consistently upvote you.
Trust me, you will get extremely discouraged if you start browsing "trending", see posts making $60+ when your art is head and shoulders better - but that is because it isn't about the quality per se, it is because that person has made connections (maybe they worked at it, maybe they were in the right place at the right time and a whale decided to start supporting them).
I know people join steemit to make money on their posts, but if you focus on that more than just posting and creating friendships you probably will give up on steemit as so many others do. These are things that I have learned after about a year on steemit (i'm posing with a new account I just created, but my other account is about a year old) So, forget about the $ attached to posts and just continue posting and conversing.

I think the huge advantages digital has over traditional is that you can instantly pick any color and adjust it however you want, whereas in traditional it can be quite difficult to get the right color/shade/etc. Plus, you can always go back to it anytime you want with digital; in traditional you can never get back to the same color you had before if you ran out of paint. The ability to have layers is certainly a huge benefit; not to mention the "undo" button really is quite a difference maker ;) You don't have to worry about actually putting down a "this just ruined my piece" stroke lol. But, I certainly don't think digital art isn't "real art" and I know it can be quite hard with just the little bit I have dabbled in it (I hope to move that way more in the future).

Thank you! Yes I will definitely not get discouraged and give up, I'm stubborn to the core and when I see a good thing, and I make a decision, I keep at it... well longer than most people would, anyway. I tried to learn Japanese in my 50's, proven the hardest language for a Westerner, and learning anything above 50 is just 10 times harder than as a teenager... I kept at it for 5 years, including trying to learn kanji, before diminishing returns caught up with me and I decided to take a break. It might have worked, if I lived in Japan. I'm going to learn how to use Steemit properly, and it won't take 5 years. :)

Hey stahlberg, This is awesome I'd like to include you in my weekly art curation: Ocean of art is that cool with you?

Yes it is, thank you! :)

oooh thank you!
(no emojis in Markdown)?

😀😀😀😀 I'm on my tablet so I have all the emojis! They should really add an emoji tab on here though for comments that would be great!

Nice work I used to do digital are and can appreciate the time gone into this.

Stick on in there also comment on others work gets a better following :)

Wow, I for one really like this! I am still trying to get good at physical painting, in the future I hope to get into stuff like this. The content is great >.<

Thanks! What media do you prefer to work in? When I was physical (lol) I used to love oils

Right now I am working on my acrylic painting skills mostly, and watercolour. I can sketch anything I can see pretty easy, paint I am finding more difficult but also more awesome with the use of colour and layers. I am going to get into oil more after I get good at acrylic.

I see, yeah, acrylic is tricky, dries fast and permanent, and almost never covers anything 100%, so the color changes from what you mix, and it's hard to get soft gradations... sometimes I'd use it for the base, then refine it with oils. :)

That actually sounds like a good idea, im totally just goin by trial and error at this point so why not try it out eh? Thank you!

Wow if this is @originalworks (maybe prove it since there is many rip off artists here) it is A.m.a.z.i.n.g!!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stahlberg to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

cooool! and following!

Love your photography! and your "Isle of Death"!

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60