A Penny

in #novella7 years ago

Aha!

I have achieved one penny for my thoughts.

I rub it in my hand to give me warmth.

I will not spend it at the bazaar; no!

Instead I shall fold it in my hair for luck, and keep it with me on my journey to the place where I buried my memory.

How many of my annals are intact, I wonder?

The time has come to publish what I have seen and what I have come to understand.

I do not expect the world to change as a result of my revelations as I once did - how vain I was then!

Ah, it matters not now, none of it; the castle I once lived in is gone, the gambling den has closed, my faithful dog is dead.

I am lucky to have been given temporary shelter by a benevolent old man.

The building is crumbling but I consider myself more than fortunate.

From the terrace I hear the voices of young people laughing.

They are drinking, celebrating holidays.

I smile at their innocence, which I consider to be a good thing.

They too will some day know catastrophe; let me allow myself to share their lightness of heart, the sweetness of the evening air.

Thank you sir, for your contribution.

May goodness and mercy follow you all the days of your life, and may you dwell in God's house forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48