Creative Writing - A collaborative novelette

in #novelette16 years ago

I proposed this idea a month ago in this post


Image Credit

It is time to get started so I shall fire the first salvo. This is about imagination and story telling.... not perfect grammar and proper tenses (quickly covering my butt there ... but also encouraging English second or third language contributors).

If you want to do a chapter, please read my first post as indicated above and then indicate your willingness to do a chapter in the comments below


Image Credit

She sat huddled up on the rocky outcrop arms wrapped around her drawn up legs, chin resting on her knees. Her face was sometimes pensive, at other times wistful but at all times beautiful as she gazed off into the far distance in deep thought.

The focus of her gaze as well as her thoughts was off in the distance; a usually bustling city but quiet at this early hour, surrounded by huge stone walls with guard towers at regular intervals. Huge wooden gates controlled the only entrance with guards in attendance, scrutinising people coming and going, pulling the odd person aside for questioning as to their business in the city. Asgoroth was at war and Asmoroth was the capital and host to the King and his royal family, thus always liable for attack and incursions by dissenters.

Ziona’s mind was in a turmoil, flipping between hope and fear and bursts of trepidation. After all, the journey she started so long ago was now almost at an end. Was it all in vain or would her arduous journey full of trials and tribulations prove to be justified?

=====================================================================

The village nestled in the valley, high cliffs to the north and mountain slopes rising both east and west. Only from the south could one easily approach and the access path was protected by village dwellers at all times, as well as the dog pack which roamed in the fields immediately outside the village.

As the first rays of light appeared in the east Zarrot stepped from his hut crouching under the burden of the village ‘cazan’; the vessel used to prepare the villagers food. Manhandling the pot into the centre of the village square the thought crossed his mind that he was getting old, ‘surely the pot was never this heavy’. Sometime soon he would have to appoint a successor, a decision which would need some serious thought as with the position came authority, as well as responsibility, both of which in the wrong hands could be abused and hence threaten the survival of his people.

Stacking the firewood in readiness Zarrot considered some of the possible candidates, regretting the fact that Ziona,being a woman, was not an option. Such intelligence and spirit of will tempered by humility and a wisdom way beyond her years made her a perfect choice for leader, especially as she was respected and loved by almost all the inhabitants of the valley.

To be continued ....

Next up @mrprofessor who will hand the baton to @twolittlebirds, please include this url at the top of your chapter @mrprofessor !!

Sort:  

@themagus! I read this post late after I came across @twolittlebirds post on this novelette! So sorry for the late comment nonetheless I must tell you that this is a brilliant start!

Thank you kindly. I believe each has played their part extremely well .... leaving me with a bit of a headache now. So many pieces to this tale ... which one to explore.

good night my dear friend, how are you @themagus

Hello friend, I am well....and you?

I'm not good friends @themagus

my post is always empty my friend, please help my friend @themagus

you're awesome.

Nice comment, following you!

Wooooho, I was worried about what to post today afternoon, now I know. I'll dive into it @themagus, let's see how it goes as It's my first try as a writer of such type.

Be right back in a few moments.

take your time.... @twolittlebirds getting nervous {grin}

oh-o, it'll be harder then I thought.

Yes, I still remember, yes I'm scared. hahaha

We're watching you haha
No just kidding, as @themagus already wrote, take your time :)

I'm tryyyyyyying, it's just that I have a curation project now that is consuming my soul.

Awesome!! You've got a new follower!

Holy shit - awesome! and great writing style! We worried about it's a genre we are not really into, but that sounds like the book of a movie we'd definitely watch :D
Excited how @mrprofessor will write on 😁

Hey, it can be any genre.... @mrprofessor can turn it into a romance.... or ancient times...or futuristic... or just somewhere on Earth with funny names..we wait and see.
I too am excited about what comes next ....

yeah forgot about that, everybody translates the words in other pictures in ones mind :) let's wait and see

I'm still trying, I've had some hard times to understand some of the fancy english words hahahaah, guess my english is not as polished as yours. Today is my last day on my work, so I'll have the time this weekend.

No sweat.... and the grammar does not matter ...it is about the story {smile}

It's up and running, check my page! Curious to see the continuation.

I pictured the story in two different places in a bigger world. For me, Ziona is not on the village and something bad happened. What will you do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56