Broken Toys | Chapter One

in #novel8 years ago

Nyssa



“Nyssa, are you ready?” Theo’s voice echoed through the second floor of our Redmond Washington home. Despite the airiness of the design, a deeply oppressive atmosphere filled its walls. 

I called out, “Yes. Are you sure you want me to wear this to your cousin’s wedding?” I felt indecently exposed wearing the skin-tight dress my husband chose. The dress I wanted got deemed ‘too matronly’ and from God-knows-where in the giant walk-in closet, my husband pulled out the slick number I’ve got on now. The dress consisted of a full-length, figure-hugging chianti-red chiffon sheath covered in scarlet and gold lace, flaring out just below the knees. The bodice came up into a sweetheart neckline, that went from the lace into sheer red chiffon, which also made the cap sleeves. Beading highlighted my breasts. Red strappy stilettos completed my ensemble. While I was thrilled to have a figure that could pull off the dress hand sewn from Madame D’Brau’s Paris shop, I didn’t feel comfortable in it, not in the least. Especially since the bride, Janna, knew what I had picked out, and approved of it already.  Not wanting to anger either my husband or my best friend, I strove to find a way to placate each.

Theo came into the bedroom and sat on the edge of the California King bed, sinking into the fluffy duvet. “Yes. You must wear that.” Approval shone in his voice.

“Janna already saw the gown I was going to wear. This… this doesn’t have her approval. She was trying for a uniformed look for stunning photos, and I am on board with helping her achieve it, Theo.” I looked in the tri-fold mirror that sat at the end of our bed, between the two mahogany dressers. Men were to be in black tuxes, women were to wear navy blue. Strove for diplomacy as I tried dancing around my husband’s whims. I could feel a knot growing in my throat in anxiety. Theo wouldn’t like my opinion, I knew that before I even opened my mouth. “This is a lovely gown, but I think it’s inappropriate for your cousin’s wedding.” 

He flicked an imaginary piece of lint from his tux’s sleeve before slicking back his dark blond hair with the same hand. “You will wear that dress. If Janna or Ras have any problems with it, we’ll just come home.” Smug certainty hung in the air.

I felt my jaw drop. “You’d bail on your cousin-who-is-like-your-brother’s wedding because you won’t let me wear the dress I chose and the bride already approved?” Upset filled my being from his stubbornness regarding my clothing. Why the hell was he trying to dictate something that really didn’t involve his input? Why foist his will upon me? 

Theo arose from the bed and stood behind me. In the mirror’s silvered reflection, I could see him raise his hands and put them on my shoulders. His amber eyes gleamed with pride, and his honey-blond  hair, neatly brushed away from his forehead. Truth was, my husband is gorgeous in the same way Michaelangelo’s David is stunning; cold perfection ruled supreme.  “Nyssa, you are beautiful. I’m proud that I have a gorgeous wife, and you shouldn’t feel bad for wearing something chosen and made just for you. I realize its not what you would have picked, but surely you’ll indulge me this one time, won’t you? I love that dress on you. Leaves little to the imagination.” His smirk seemed out of place. Removing his hands from me, he opened the top drawer to his dresser and pulled out a flat, white velvet box. He opened it, and twinkling from within, a necklace of large tear-drop shaped rubies and shimmering baguette diamonds. Inside the circle of the necklace, a matching bracelet and earrings. Breath left my body at the extravagant display, while he murmured, “I had this commissioned at the same time I ordered that dress. I hope you don’t mind that I want to spoil you madly.”

I took a lung-filling breath of air to try and clear my thoughts. By now I’ve learned that any jewelry came with a cost; rubies and diamonds are the bartering price for my compliance. The gems were fabulous, but they represented capitulation; that if I wore them with this dress, he essentially bought my cooperation, and that thought pissed me off indelibly. But he couldn’t know that, so I opted for diplomacy. “I’m touched, Theo. Really, I am. I just wish you consulted me or at least asked my opinion first, especially when it comes to my clothing. The dress is gorgeous, and the jewelry lovely. I’m simply not used to wearing real gemstones and you know of my anxiety at the thought of losing a stone or an earring. It’s why I was glad we opted for plain bands for our wedding rings. Thank you, Theo, for everything. Just…” My voice disappeared as I sought to tell my mercurial husband that I’m not his doll so he can play dress up, and knowing that no matter how it’s phrased, he’ll get angry. “Please give me the ability to choose for myself, okay?” Frustration echoed throughout my veins and I took several deep breaths to keep tears of anger from filling my eyes. Some men hated tears. Some don’t. To this day, I’m still not sure which category my husband qualified.

His smile withered and he snapped the jewelry case closed. “So you don’t like it?” He threw it back into the open drawer before slamming it shut with enough force to rock the heavy dresser.

I turned and put a hand on his arm, willing him to mellow out a bit. “If the dress were navy blue, my love, it’d be much less an issue. I’ll be the only person there in a non-sanctioned color. I don’t want attention on me like that, let alone at Janna’s wedding. She’s as close as a sister I have, I don’t want to upset her, most especially today.” Was it really that hard for him to understand my hesitation at going with his wants tonight? In a sea of dark blue, I’d be a beacon of bad taste. No thanks. 

His voice invoked his inner god of assholes. “You didn’t tell me what the bride had planned! Don’t blame me for this! Really Nyssa, do you have to blow this out of proportion? It’s just a wedding and I wanted to do something nice for you, wanted to make you shine like the star you are. I’m sorry you don’t like my choices, or the fact that I care how you present yourself to others. Damn it, you’re beautiful, you should dress like it instead of some wallflower.  Besides, you’re covered from neck to floor. You aren’t inappropriate. I want to make all the other men jealous, knowing they can never have you. Especially Ras. He had the hots for you when we first met. Janna was his backup plan.”

Hated when he pulled this kind of shit on me. Didn’t like the idea of flaunting myself before the groom, let alone my best friend’s husband-to-be. Just didn’t seem right on so many levels. “Can I take the dress I chose, if Janna has an issue with this one?” And I’m pretty fucking sure she’d rightfully take issue to its presence.  I could duck away into the bathroom and change, thereby ensuring that Theo wouldn’t miss out on Ras’ wedding and create drama within his family. Especially today, on Janna’s big day. While Theo and Ras were raised together, Janna Berry and I were college roommates and beasties from that day forth. When Theo and I met during a charity event, Janna and Ras made eye contact and haven’t been separated since then. She was my Maid of Honor, and while I declined a role in Janna’s wedding at Theo’s behest, I wanted to support her best I could on her big day. I knew this dress would freak her out and that’s the last damned thing she needs.

Theo heaved a deep sigh. “Sure. Put it in the trunk. But we need to go. It’s going to be a half-hour drive and I don’t want to be late.” He checked his watch. “We’d be on time if we left five minutes ago.”

“Yes, Theo.” The submissive tone I chose seemed to release the tension from his body. “Ready when you are.” I gathered my back up dress, still on its hanger and covered in protective plastic, and slung it over my arm, before reaching for my black T-strap heels.

With a smile, he offered me his elbow like a southern gent and we walked together down the stairs. At the front entryway, Theo’s ‘bodyguard’ stood, the Bugatti’s keys in his outstretched hand. That was Kahan’s official title, but at Theo’s behest, tended to keep a wide berth and adapted the role of errand boy and go-fer.

“Sir, it’s fueled up and checked over.” Tall, good looking in a boy-next-door way, Tobie Kahan’s blue eyes sparkled. Pretty sure he got his cheap thrills by driving my husband’s sports car to the gas station and back. I know I’d get an adrenaline high if permitted such a task. His clean-shaved head wouldn’t show whether he had a need for speed or not.

Snatching the keys from Kahan, Theo replied, “Excellent. You have the night off.” And out we went. The Bugatti Veyron Grand Sport was Theo’s favorite car. Sleek and decidedly not American, the Sang Bleu edition had been featured in an automotive enthusiast magazine spread when Theo bought it. Guess that’s a perk of being ungodly wealthy. 

Oil will do that to one. I married into a wealthy family who’s main product revolved around petroleum, and because of that, they could readily afford a lifestyle one can only imagine about. Raised the way I was, I didn’t really understand what that kind of wealth meant. Custom made, hand sewn dresses from France? Jewelry with real gemstones, expensive sports cars? Race horse stud farms? Trips around the world? Everything and more. Having those kinds of funds doesn’t mean one buys things, but buys a lifestyle. Eight months married, and I’m still learning the ropes. 

We hopped into the convertible and as it revved to life, Theo began stroking my thigh. Nothing got him hotter than showing me and his car off, and his cousin’s wedding seemed the perfect excuse for both. “You really do look amazing, Nyssa. Be proud.”

I stifled a sigh. “Hate to tell you, Theo, but I’m far more proud of putting myself through college than I am of my looks.” I offered a small smile to soften my murder of his compliment.

He scoffed. “You really think a degree in history is impressive?”

Turning my head so I looked out the door’s window so he couldn’t see me roll my eyes, frustrated at his obtuse nature. “Not nearly as impressive as working and paying for my own education, thank you very much.” Unlike him, I didn’t grow up with a trust fund to suckle dry. 

Theo’s stroking of my thigh intensified as his hand wandered to my apex through lace and chiffon. “Men are going to lust for you, Nyssa. Just enjoy the sensation of being a sensation. When you look this hot, I’m so proud of you being my wife, that I have the most gorgeous woman on my arm. You’re a blessing like that.”

I changed the subject, not wanting to dwell on the fact I’ll stick out like a pus-oozing sore thumb. “Can’t believe Janna chose the Seattle Aquarium for the wedding venue! I bet it’ll be amazing.”

“Our wedding at Moet et Chandon was amazing. This will be merely interesting.” Theo’s self-assurance grated on my nerves, although he had a point— our wedding had been spectacular. We married in France, flew all two hundred of our guests out to join us, said our vows at the Chateau de Saran, had our reception in the Napoleon Cellar. It pleased him to no end to dine where his personal hero once stood, listening to period music Bonaparte would have listened to as well.

The journey on 520 over the Evergreen Point Floating Bridge was made in quiet, with Theo pressing his thumb against my mound and trying to rub an orgasm out of me. I wasn’t in the mood though.

“Stop, Theo. Not now.” I swatted his hand away as gently as I could; too much force and he’d respond in kind.

He replied, “No. I want the men to smell your musk and know they can’t ever sink into your heat, because you’re all mine. Come for me.”

I’m not a dog and I don’t come on command. Tried wiggling my hips away from him, which seemed to make him think that they were moving in arousal instead. I faked breathing heavy and moaned low. Felt like a harlot, but I had to play the role he wanted. Did not need to bait him into even more callous behavior on an important day. With a deep, shuddering breath, I moaned again and jerked my hips against the seat belt in fake completion.

“That’s a good girl.” He reached over, grabbed my hand and placed it on his burgeoning crotch. I could feel the steady throb of his erection beneath the cloth, and on one hand, I enjoyed the feeling, but on the other, his timing is deplorable and added to my already growing irritation. I caressed him as it was expected of me, and he bucked against my hand for a moment before hissing, “Stop!” This was going to be a very interesting wedding, no doubt, with Theo showing me off as his arm candy and he in perma-arousal.

We made our way to the Seattle Aquarium. Valets waited to take the keys and we were ushered inside and along a path to the Elliot Bay patio. Faux leafless trees hung with candles in tiny globes from the branches, creating a dreamy backdrop for the nuptial festivities. Row after row of white chairs festooned with red zinnias and white jasmine, with each row marked by a very large vase filled with more crimson zinnias. Upon each seat, a cushion topped with a tiny bottle of bubbles. I wasn’t sure what side to sit on— Janna being my best friend versus Ras being related to my husband. Turned out, I didn’t need to make a choice, as Theo wrapped his arm possessively  and led me to where his Aunt Eva and Uncle Thaddeus sat, with their daughter Leda. While Theo spoke with his uncle, I moved over to sit closer to Eva and Leda.

I smiled at Leda and said, “Looks like you’re next in line.” Her honey-blond hair was bound into a loose chignon, highlighting her model-grade cheekbones and imp-like eyes of teal. Imp-like, because Leda fed on mischief, and those eyes of hers always twinkled. Her gown, a navy blue taffeta sleeveless tea-length confection.

She laughed. “That’s only if I catch the bouquet. I’m going to make sure to avoid it and the cooties it carries.” Leda turned to her mom and said, “You’d think being Ras’ sister would mean I’d be in the wedding. He didn’t want a Best Woman, though. Said he didn’t want to make Janna jealous.”

“You turned Janna’s offer of being a bridesmaid down, dear.” Eva Mezler had a deep velvety voice, seeming at odds with her waif-like frame. A clinical psychologist, she found her work engrossing. In her fifties, she could still pass as a Vogue cover girl, with her wavy ash-blonde hair, large green eyes, and perfectly sculpted cheekbones. My dress caught her gaze. “Thought the bride asked for subdued colors?” 

“Theo had it made for me, and wanted me to wear it. I have the dress Janna approved  in the car, that way if Janna would prefer me in something subtle, I can easily  accommodate.” I was of half a mind to slip out and go change before the wedding started, but I didn’t want to risk Theo making a scene because my apparel changed without his knowledge. It’s stupid, I know, and I resented the fact that my life had become such an autonomy-free zone.

Eva shook her head and said low, “He didn’t give you much of a choice, did he?” 

I nodded and whispered back, “He suggested that if anyone had an issue with it, we’d just go home.” Out of all the people in the Mezler family, Eva and Leda were my favorites. The matriarch, ever intuitive, ever supportive; her daughter being a handful of fun.

Eva sighed. “Well, at least you brought backup. Rasmus is nervous enough as is. If he thought Theodorus would make a scene, he’d probably elope.”

I laughed. “Well, here’s to keeping the wedding on for all involved.” Silently, I cursed my husband’s stubbornness. 

My laughter caught Theo’s attention and he moved to sit next to me, with me sandwiched next to Leda. “What’s so funny?”

I smirked. “That I could deprive your cousin of an elopement.”

Theo’s brow furrowed and he turned his attention to our surroundings. “This is better than I expected.”

Nodding, I agreed. “I like the set up. I can almost blend into the flowers.” I gave a wry smile to hide my frustration of not blending in and silently kicking myself in the ass for giving in to my husband.

He didn’t think it was funny. “Yeah, there’s a lot more red than I anticipated.” 

“Janna’s mom grew up in India, and red is an auspicious color for celebrations there. Pretty sure Janna will work in some red into her gown, some how.” The daughter of a ginger Scotsman and an English-Indian woman, Janna straddled international culture like none other, although I couldn’t picture her in a sari. Saw a tux-clad Ras take his place before the candle-lit trees as dusk fell upon us. His hair was a shade darker than his mother’s, while he had his father’s amber eyes. His hair, slicked back instead of tumbling over his forehead, as seemed his norm. With hands clasped before him, he waited nervously, turning to talk to the tall elderly man in heather-gray standing next to him who clasped a little book in his hands. The black suit he wore stark against the sky and ocean filled background.

As the seats on the patio filled, the sound of waves crashing and sea gulls calling filled my ears. A gentle summer breeze blew, and before too long, the strains of Greensleeves played on strings just as stars were appearing in the heavens. Guests quieted and looked around in search of the bridal party.

A little dark- haired girl skipped down the aisle, tossing white rose petals like a pixie would fairy dust. A little boy in formal knickers and short coat carried a pillow with the two rings tied with a ribbon upon its center. He looked very uncomfortable. Then came eight men and ladies walking down the aisle, hand in hand. The gents all wore black, with a white rose and jasmine boutonniere. The ladies all wore shell pink corseted bodices flowing into matching tulle skirts, embroidered with black scroll work. They carried white roses, jasmine, and fern pomanders.

Then came Janna on her kilted father’s arm, wearing a white organza ball-gown, trimmed in a deep scarlet silk with black scroll embroidery matching that of her bridesmaids. The deep, square neckline had a wide scarlet band across the bust before melding into white organza, with a noticeable dip in the center, just this side of being a sweetheart neckline. The ends of the scarlet band helped form the train cascading down from her shoulders, just above wide cap sleeves. A very striking gown, it showed off her curves beautifully. With her dark auburn hair styled into a wild array of curls held up with jeweled pins, she was a prissy Princess Merida, and she was striking.  

She walked down the aisle with a grin on her face. I know for a fact she dreamed of her wedding since she was old enough to know what a wedding dress was for. Ras smiled wide, and when she reached him, she handed off her bouquet to the Maid of Honor. Janna reached for Ras, and they held hands while the pastor began the service.

They each proudly proclaimed their love before us all, and no one felt the need to speak now or forever hold their peace. The wedding ended with a long kiss, and we were lead back inside the aquarium, to the hall midst a cloud of bubbles blown by the guests. Large glass windows held the sea life at bay, while a great many tables surrounded a dance floor. Pop music played at a discreet level, as men in white dress coats and black trousers passed trays of appetizers around the mingling folk.  

Theo wouldn’t let me off his arm, and anytime an acquaintance stopped by us to speak, my husband would tighten his arm around me or let his hand slide down to my ass to grab it. I tried to make my way over to Janna to wish her congratulations, but as soon as I stepped away, Theo snaked his hand out to quickly grasp my arm. “Where are you going?”

Resisted the urge to display the frown I felt. “To speak to our new sister-in-law.”

“She’s been looking daggers at you.” He nodded in her direction and I followed his gaze. He was right. Janna had a fake smile plastered to her face while she spoke to her new parents-in-law, while looking straight at me. I offered a smile to the bride and she turned to give her full attention to Thad and Eva.

“Let me go apologize to her, then I can go change into what I should have been wearing all along.” Softened the words with a tiny smile at my husband. 

Theo let go of my arm. “Fine.” I didn’t like the tone he used. While he gave verbal indication that things were peachy, I knew there’d be a price for my independence. 

With a deep sigh filling my lungs I wove through the throng of people, to where Janna stood. “Hey. You look gorgeous! Congrats on the wedding and welcome to the Matrimony Club.” I smiled.

She turned to me, her eyes radiating anger. “That’s not the dress you said you’d wear.” 

I cringed, knowing that she’d feel upset that I wasn’t blending in so she could stand out. “I know. Theo had it made for me and wouldn’t let me wear the one I showed you. I brought it though, because my alternative would be to go home and stay there. I’m sorry, Janna, I didn’t mean to ruin your wedding.”

She looked at my dress. “Well, it’s not ruined, but damn woman, that is one way to upstage the bride!” Janna smiled at me, before engulfing me in a huge embrace. “Thank you! I’m glad you brought the other one, because we still have to do pictures. Since you couldn’t be in the wedding party, you are so going to be in oodles of photos. Bridal demand, there is no negotiation. Best accept it with quiet dignity.”

With a smile, I replied, “Seems silly in a way. I get to be the one changing for the reception!”

Janna laughed as Theo walked up to me. Turning to him, I said, “Told you. Now I’m going to change.”

He frowned. “Want me to go get the dress?”

Our new in-law chimed an answer. “Sure, would you? I’d love to ask Nyssa’s opinion on some of the arrangements.”

With a curt nod, Theo stalked off. Pretty sure he anticipated me turning him down and fetching the navy blue silk gown myself.

“I still don’t like him.” Janna spoke in hushed tones so Eva and Thad wouldn’t hear. 

“I know. But we’re trying. And you married into the family, so that officially makes him kinda-sorta your problem, too.”

With a little frown, the bride stated, “You were supposed to be my Matron of Honor. Why did he make you decline? My sister was supposed to be a last resort. I so did not want her planning the bachelorette party. If that party were a horse, it would have needed a gunshot to the head to put it out of its misery. It was that bad. I wanted male strippers and got Bible verses instead.”

“He didn’t like me having much girl time anymore. He’s jealous like that. I’m trying to mellow him out about it and then I’ll make it up to you big time.”

She picked a tandoori chicken skewer off the tray of a passing waiter and nibbled. “How’s that working?”

With a sigh and a smidgen of sarcasm I replied, “You tell me. But before that, please note that he volunteered  to fetch my dress and left me to talk to you. Can we call that improvement?”

With a scoff, Janna replied, “Don’t know why you even try.” Ever since she first met him, Janna has hated him with a ferocity usually reserved for abusers and child molesters. I couldn’t place my finger directly on what it was about him that brought out her cat claws, but he always made her spidey-senses tingle.

“Because I love him. He has his good points, too. He didn’t grumble under his breath when you sent him off like a servant.” Which is a vast improvement in regards to his disposition. And while my husband could be incredibly bossy, stubborn, irritating and callous, he also possessed an incredibly sweet side that loves indulging me.  When I told him my idea of a dream vacation was to backpack through Europe, hitting a bunch of ancient sites, he made that a reality for our honeymoon. We didn’t stay in hostels, but four star hotels which seemed incredibly silly to me being that we were scruffy and carried nothing but the packs on our backs as we checked into these swanky places. No, Theo isn’t perfect, but he does have his good parts.

“Humility could do him good. Just saying. Ooh, wait until you taste the cake! Cacao and mocha butter cream, sprinkled with cacao nibs. It’s delish, just saying. Umm, who is that?” Janna pointed to a woman standing near the hall’s entrance, garbed in a long black, ancient Grecian-style gown, held together at the shoulders with round, blood-red gemstone brooches. Her hair, dark as her gown, was cut in a severe bob just below her ears. Vamp style bangs seemed to emphasize her sky blue eyes. She stood on the fringes, seeming to scan the throng of people for someone in particular.

I shook my head. “I don’t know. Hey, Leda?” I addressed my cousin-in-law, hoping she could shed light on the situation.

Ras’ sister turned at the mention of her name. “Yes?”

Janna spoke up. “Do you know who that woman is? The one looking all meh and uninvited?” With a nod of her head, she indicated the woman in black.

“Oh shit. What is she doing here? Mom!” Leda called out to Eva, standing a few feet away. “Mom! We have to go intercept. Right now.”

“What’s going on?” Eva sounded bewildered.

“Margot is here.” It was uttered with a hint of malice.

I asked Leda, “Who is Margot?” My husband’s cousin generally wasn’t the type to make a scene without a good reason and her statement of running an interception kicked on my curiosity generator.

Her mouth opened into a perfect O of surprise. “Theo never mentioned her?” She look bewildered for a moment. “Did he invite her?”

I shook my head, bewildered by the reactions of Leda and Eva in regards to this mystery woman. “No, he never mentioned her to me. Who is she?”

Leda stood next to me and whispered in my ear, “When Theo was fourteen, he started mowing the lawn  of the widow next door. She and he ended up getting caught naked in the hot tub by her boyfriend. The boyfriend left, Theo and Margot end up bumping uglies and getting caught by the police— who the boyfriend called. People were bought off, things hushed up. But once Theo turned eighteen and got his trust fund to spend, he called her up, asked her advice. Went prospecting for oil in Alaska. Found the strike that made his personal fortune, and took her on as a business partner out of respect for her helping him succeed when every one else thought he was nuts, being that my great-grandfather’s legacy focused in Texas, Oklahoma and the Dakotas. When he got into race horses, she was there, telling him how to run his stud farm. Now she runs a spa and salon, which he bought her.”

“I had no idea she worked with Theo. Can’t believe she’d show up, unless she was invited.”

Eva already stalked over to Margot and looked to be having civil words with her. Then entered Theo, my gown and shoes in hand. He gave his business partner a brief smile before walking my way. When he arrived by my side, he held out my replacement clothing. “Here it is.”

“What’s your mom telling that woman?” I asked, curious to know if he picked up on the bad vibe.

With a huge frown, he replied to us, “She was asking her to leave.”

“You’ve never mentioned Margot to me.” I felt an irrational anger that the woman who seduced a kid would have any sort of power over my husband, and I found it unnerving that they ‘worked’ together, even more unnerving was the fact he never mentioned her to me.

He shrugged his shoulders in a blatant I don’t give a damn. “You don’t ask about work.”

Tilted my head to the side and asked, “How about before you made your lucky strike?”

He frowned. “Go get changed.” With a gentle push, he nudged me toward the ladies room. I could hear him rounding on Leda. “Why the hell did you tell her about Margot?”

I hurried off, only to return and find Leda giving her cousin as much shit as he had given her. “And who the hell are you to invite people without the bride or groom’s say so? That’s a total asshole maneuver, Theo. Now you owe me an apology.”

With a churlish tone, Theo grumbled, “Sorry for biting your head off, Leda.”

A sweet smile graced her lips. “Forgiven. Now don’t be a douche.”

Ras walked up behind Theo and quipped, “Good luck with that.” Turning to his sister, he asked, “Was that who I thought it was?”

Theo thundered, “Yes, it was! And now she’s gone.” With a sobering breath, he uttered, “Sorry, Ras. Didn’t mean to bring bad juju to your big day.”

With a look and then a wink to me, Ras smiled. “She’s not bad juju. Just a flamboyant butterfly hiding in a darkened cocoon. Where’s the dress you had on earlier? That thing is a sack compared to what you wore not long ago.” Maybe he didn’t know Margot showed up, perhaps he has more class than to mention it and throw more fuel on the fire. Either way, his comment should please Theo, that the gaudy dress inside the black clothing protector in my arms was noticed and apparently missed. 

I felt blood rushing to my cheeks in embarrassment and said, “The lace was chafing, so I decided to slip into something more comfortable. And Janna asked me to blend in with the rest of the guests for photos. I’m more than happy to oblige the bride. Besides, it wasn’t so much a request but non-negotiable bridal demand.”

Theo’s face darkened and he growled. “She’s gorgeous and mine.”

“So she is, cousin. And my ginger hussy is mine, all mine.” With a gracious nod, he excused himself to go kiss Janna’s cheek. “Dinner will be served in thirty minutes, and the first round of photos in five.” 

When Ras mentioned photos, I wondered if I should stick close to Janna so we could get the pics done like she wanted. But when my husband grasped my wrist I knew that was a moot point.

Theo pulled me away with a little more force than necessary. “Come on.” His grip tightened and he stalked off, towing me behind.

Bewildered, I asked with the red gown clutched in my arms, “Where are we going?”

“Home.” A single word filled with palatable anger and menace. Dammit.

 A sinking feeling filled me as the realization that he was upset that his plan worked, or something. Hell if I know, maybe he planned to go home all along if I changed. I sighed, miffed that my husband used moments like this to strut me out like I’m his arm candy and that’s all I can be, considering his comments about my education. Now I felt especially stupid for letting him do so.  My stilettos clicked a staccato beat on the cement  as we walked back to the valets. “Really, Theo? Can’t we even say goodbye?” Anger boiled in me, knowing that aside from Janna getting married, this night was a bust. I sure as hell didn’t want to be a part of that couple, the ones who make scenes at family gatherings and make everyone uncomfortable, yet I was. I felt angry at my husband, being that Janna wanted us (but especially me) in her photos, and he denied both she and I that little pleasure. Couldn’t be in the wedding because of his jealousy, and now his tizzy fit just seemed the icing on the wedding cake I don’t get to eat. No words of dissatisfaction emerged from my lips, having been supplanted by a soul-deep sigh. 

When the Bugatti pulled up the curb and the young man handed Theo the keys, I hopped in, not wanting to cause more of a scene. 

Frustration built as we drove in silence. Theo kept his hands to himself, and I knew what was to come from his single-minded focus to getting us home. 

“Theo?” I asked as we pulled into the long sycamore and dogwood-lined private drive to our home, nestled in the middle of one hundred thirty acres. 

“Yeah?” His voice seemed dark and brooding, as though something lingered on his mind. I could only guess, considering how this evening went.

“I’m going to take a shower before bed.” It wasn’t even ten-thirty yet. I wanted to remove the makeup from my face, curl up with a saucy novel, and try to forget how my husband and I fucked up my best friend’s wedding. Pretty sure there’s going to be a barrage of text messages from Janna demanding where I am. With my cell on silent, I didn’t have the gumption to check. She’ll be angry at me, but more so with Theo. 

Sigh. I am a horrible friend. Need to text her ASAP so she at least knows.

“No you’re not.” He pulled into the hanger-like garage behind the main house. It contained his motorized playthings and happened to be his version of a pimped out ManCave, complete with bar, big screen television and leather couch, and enough sports cars to give any man with such a penchant quite a thrill-induced erection. Bathroom even had a urinal.

“Why not?” I needed at a bare minimum to wash my face. Still angry at being denied the freedom of enjoying my friend’s wedding and the whole bloody issue with the dresses, I wanted to get some space from Mr. Joy Kill. Bury my nose in a book and binge on ice cream. A threesome with Ben and Jerry sounds damn good right about now.

Theo got out of the car, as did I. Leading me out of the garage with a possessive arm wrapped around me, we walked along walkway lined with freesia, iris, and hydrangea, to the house. My steps felt leaden, because I knew without a doubt tonight had just begun. How it would play out, I can’t say. But I do know my husband planned on making an impression. His anger from the wedding snubs will erupt, like Krakatau, and I’m the village to be smothered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76