Would you publish/read a novel on Steemit ?

in #novel8 years ago (edited)

The postman and the storyteller

Isn't it funny ? In order to add "posts" on Steemit, you have to click on the button "Submit a story". So, Posts are stories ? or Stories are posts ? Are we writers or are we postmen ? And why all the stories on Steemit look like more article to me than actual... you know... "FICTION"!

I have been writing for a couple of years and found it a drag to reach out to publishers or to pay for printing my own copies who will never been publish.

I'm not tech savvy enough either to create my own e-book and sell it through Amazon or whichever professional platform you have out there. 

So, i'm thinking about Steemit, and I'm asking to you : would you like a novel on here ? 

Challenges

There are two main problems with it. 


First of all, the attention span. We all know the idea that internet is basically killing our attention span. I can imagine that 84% of you, reading this far into my story, are considering already dropping it :-) That's life and I have to roll with it. 


However, since I own an Ipad, I have converted to what I thought i would never do : read literature on an e-reader. I was always a big zelot of the paper form. However, the Ipad was the end of that fanaticism. It's actually possible to keep reading through pages and pages. The issue is therefore the content and not the medium.


And for the second issue : the privacy


I have always been wary about publishing anything online, due to copyright issue. However, I have been reading that this "blockchain" stuff is quite good at proving ownership. Is it safe to publish any stuff of value on here ? As soon as a story comes out... How to control it ?


The reward

In reward for writing, the satisfied (i hope) reader would have nothing else to do than to Upvote each post/chapter. That would be the payment AND a nice way also to be able to judge and quantify the readership, not to mention the comments which might help to revise and upgrade the final product.


Conclusion

So, should I propose to you some of the stories I'm currently researching, in order to see which one appeals to you the most ?


Sort:  

Surely you don't have to worry about copyright these days, since it's easy to prove if you're the author of a work, or if it's been plagiarised. I'd be happy to read fiction here. Am thinking of posting some of my own.

What kind of fiction are you interested in?

herverisson? I'm assuming from your article here that there is no page limit on what one can publish here on Steemit. However, for the past two days, I've been trying to publish a 74-page article here on Steemit. I press the blue "Post" icon, and nothing happens. Do you have any suggestions on what I could do to get around this problem? This is really driving me crazy, and I know that the technical staff at [email protected] are virtually impossible to get a response from.

Hi @epicenterdefacto! My advice is to publish it in several parts. Because, believe me, NO ONE will read a 74-page article on Steemit. Divide it, publish several parts which are easy to read and assimilate, so that you can get upvote on each of them. You will make more upvotes thanks to this. It may not be the answer you are looking for, but I assure you it's the best you can get.

That's likely what I'll have to do. Everything else I have tried to get it posted has failed. I'm probably going to post it in segments of 25 pages or less each. One other Steemit member told me that there is some kind of technical page limit that keeps people from posting voluminous articles on one page. Hopefully, that will be the only issue that I am facing. I have sent like 50 e-mails to the Steemit technical support complaining about this problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.15
ETH 2428.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65