Will "Notifications" keep people more active on Steemit?

in #notifications8 years ago (edited)

Notifications


So @dantheman replied to an idea that I had about adding "Notifications" to Steemit..
Saying that they will be adding this feature in the near future!

But how is this going to affect users on Steemit, and how we use the site differently?

I think that the "Notifications" might be the only reason I spent more than 5 seconds on Facebook.. Besides to check my private messages which they also said will be coming in the next few weeks!

So imagine that you are now alerted when someone upvotes or comments on your post, and even when they reply to something you've commented on.

This will start to subliminally give people something to look forward to..
(That bright red box that tells you the site is alive, and that someone on here cares about you!)

So I think that once these features ARE added we will start to see everyone become a lot more active, and will motivate people to want to post more and interact more with the community!

Sort:  

They would certainly help me a lot. Much easier to keep track of people responding to me, and being able to carry on a conversation in the comments if I had notifications directing me to where people wanted to chat!

Exactly @justtryme90.. Even now if I am off for a day or so I might miss a lot that I would have to go through to make sure I didn't miss anyone or anything :/

Yep! I have found that I DO miss stuff, which is a problem for me. I like to interact with everyone who replies to me! I appreciate their taking the time to respond to what ever I said, and want to make sure they know it.

I agree with its usefulness especially with comments. It's currently difficult to keep an eye on comments and follow up on them, especially if the post is s few days old.

So long as I have steemstats up (like I do right now) its notifications help me pay attention. I think this fact further solidifies how useful notifications in the actual platform would be. On the bright side since @dantheman said they are on their way, the issue will soon be resolved!

I hope that along with that, they will add the feature where when you click on the link you get taken directly to the actual comment, not the top of the post (where you then have to scroll through the entire article and many comments until you find the one you're looking for).

I think it will be nice

I believe any features that encourage and motivate users to interact with the platform rather than just passively observe are all progressive steps forward and very welcomed.
This 'notification' feature in particular is one I am very happy to see implemented for all the reasons already given by yourself and others in the comments.

Yes, It would definitely help people to be engaged on steemit @stealthtrader

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66001.12
ETH 3485.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15