You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Effective Note Taking: The Cornell Method

in #notetaking7 years ago (edited)

I had no idea what the 'Cornell method' was, until I read this post. These are skills which if taught formerly at an orientation phase, could spell the difference between success and failure. Perhaps out of necessity and determination, some will develop his own methods, while others will give up. It would appear I have used the Cornell method as a student and beyond into professional life, taking notes while listening to clients or at conferences, etc. The margins of a note page become populated with keywords that stand out from what the person said. The centre of the page becomes filled with salient bits of information one needs to record accurately. At the base of the note paper, I'd write points which appear to clash, do not yet gel into the overall picture, areas where my curiosity takes me, or which require testing or exploration by further reading or enquiry. Most often, the base of the page or other portions of the centre, are highlights with question marks. I can't imagine a laptop being used for such an exercise. It would immediately appear to be a useless tool for note taking. Even as a method to research something, such and exercise is done after the lecture is over. I have observed that laptops are a distraction during lectures and serve to place a barrier between student and lecturer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77