You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Skimmers, I Know What You’re Thinking: “Dang, Dan! You Really Made Me Work My Arse Off On This One.”

Hey my man, glad to see that everything is going well. It has to be great to finally have gotten out of Costa Rica. I thought that moth in the window was a bat.
Kids say the funniest things.
Boy you guys got in a lot while in the city. There is so much to see and the places that you visited would have been on the top of my list too. There has been so much building going on in the city, I don't know how Manhattan has not sunk.
The Statue of Liberty is a must see. During the renovation of the statue, from 1982 thru 1986 I worked for my brother and we installed commercial metal roofing systems. A new boat dock was constructed on the opposite side of Liberty Island during this time period. The new boat dock was where the tourists would exit the boats that brought them out to the island. My brother's company, Old Queens construction Co., funny name ha, did the work. He graduated from Rutgers University, and back in the day the name of the college was Old Queens. We installed the metal roofing on the dock.
Tourists-on-Liberty-Island.jpg
The scaffolding that was required to do the renovating was a feat in itself.
During the work on Lady Liberty workers were to lazy to come down off of the scaffoling and were pissing on her. The statue was discoloring where these fools relieved themselves. When the reason for the discoloration of the copper was discovered it was front page news for weeks.
()

Thanks for including the songs from the music played while on the boat.
Young Americans, haven't listened to that one in a while.
Gin & Juice, never heard that one. Funny song to be playing as you depart the boat.😁😁
You should have seen Jersey City 20-25 years ago. Ghetto to say the least. Now it is an area that attracts all of the yuppies, bring your check book.
Thanks for sharing this part of your adventure with us. Keep us posted.

Have been away for a while also. We just got back from vacationing at the Jersey shore with the family. Got back Tuesday, had a great time and I'm sure #farm-mom will post something, she must have taken 500 pictures.

Enjoy your adventures and continue to stay safe.

Sort:  

You know you smashed another comment homerun here, right? You’re such a major leaguer! 😉 Good morning from Leeds, UK (home to The Beatles), my favorite New Yorker! Thank you for this comment.

Yeah, we definitely crammed a lot in during those 2 days in NYC—we both had a great time. It was go-go-go which means we fit right in. Not a soul around there who isn’t on a mission with somewhere to be. You know what man? There’s more junkies on the streets of Manhattan than anywhere I’ve seen, sir, it’s heartbreaking. And I’m from LA, Pura is from San Francisco so I’m pretty sure I’ve had equal opportunities to witness the aftermath of those drugs, the streets there in Manhattan are pretty disturbing. Do you agree? Have you been there recently?

The smart fart kid. Haha! I know you have more stories than me but kids say the greatest stuff!

That’s really neat you guys were the ones to install the roof, this comment of yours is nothing shy of an article, in case I haven’t told you lately, I’m glad we met. 👍🏿

That’s crazy about the pissing. My career consisted a lot of designing power grids, erecting tower cranes and control circuits for tower cranes so I’m very familiar with staying hundreds of feet in the air all day—you do what you have to do and it’s absolitely common to piss in bottles, hoist the bucket down for the other, it’s normal. Never in my life have I so much as heard of someone pissing off the side of a tower. But on the Statue of Liberty?! Dude that really makes me want to drop the F wOrd right here—punks!

True story: Even as we were sailing around her, even looking at the pictures prior to this article, I asked Pura several times, “is there lights shining at it?” ...”I don’t remember seeing any lighting glowing in the day time.. How/why is it glowing like that?” It wasn’t until I did this article I learned it’s made entirely out of copper—now I get it! 👍🏿

My pleasure listing the sound track—I’m glad you appreciated it. Yeah, gin & juice, ha!! I’d never heard that one either. Even when I was researching it for this article, Pura said “no way! Garth Brooks?!” Laugh out loud!

It’s always a pleasure hearing from you, sir, thanks a lot for keeping an eye on us.

Thanks for stopping by @thebigsweed. We’re 5 hours ahead of you, you’re probably sleeping, hopefully I’ll see you at #fff later on.

Good morning. Yeah, the War on Drugs and Just say No don't seem to have worked. So many junkies, and from so many walks of life. Everyone knows at least one person that has died from overdosing. My sons have lost two of their very best friends from getting hooked on prescription drugs, ordered by doctors due to injuries.

I believe the big pharm companies are the biggest pushers of all, and do it with the blessings of society. That seems to be changing as they are now being held somewhat accountable.
Leeds UK, home of the Beetles, must be some very interesting stuff to see there.
Big day at the farm today. We finally got several days of no rain, and my wife's cousin has cut the hay and it will be an all out assault to get the hay in the barn before it rains later today. Should be about 500 bails.
#fff is on the list as I start to ramp up my participation again on steemit. laid low while on vacation, and am excited to start posting again. Got some good material that I think people may enjoy.
Talk soon and let the wife know we are also thinking of her!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43