Recovering Memories | Part Eight

in #nosleep6 years ago

Recovering Memories.jpg

Part Seven

July 31

I’ve lost my job. They left a voicemail on my phone. I have a ton of missed calls from them and people worried about me. Apparently, I’ve been slipping up a lot at work. It’s been getting progressively worse over the last few months. They’re concerned about me and my mental state.

I can’t say that I blame them. I’m concerned, too. I can’t remember the last two days. I’m not sure I even went into the woods. My body is no longer sore and I’m still wearing the same clothes I was the other day. Normally, I would be wearing some form of pajamas. Maybe the curse is over? There’s no way I could be that lucky.

Though how lucky I could be after losing my job and worrying everyone that knows me, I’m not so sure.

So fuck it. I’m going into those woods and I’m getting my answers one way or another. There’s a good chance this is the last you’ll hear from me. If I make it back from the woods alive, I’ll post what happened.

I’m bleeding pretty badly, but I made it back to my apartment. I tried to wrap the worst of my cuts in t-shirts to slow the bleeding. I should go to the hospital or call an ambulance, but I’m pretty sure they’re going to put me in the psych ward as soon as they hear what happened. There’s no way they’ll believe me so I need to get this out somehow. Hopefully, someone will see it and they’ll know not to go into those woods. Stay as far away from them as possible. Please just avoid them at all costs.

It was early morning when I went into the woods. Everything was bright, the sunlight shining through all the tree limbs. I took the time along the original path to look for the camera I had lost. I still haven’t found it. And, I guess, I never will.

I made it to the tree without incident. Immediately, I checked behind it for the cloaked figure that chased me last time. I strained my ears for the sound of whispers, but there was nothing. It wasn’t here this time and I was thankful for that. This trip would have been a total waste if I had been chased away before I made it any farther.

I turned in a small circle, trying to decide which way to go. Then it occurred​ to me: I should put my own cloak on. It might deter them from coming after me if they think I’m one of them and not doing this on my own. I dug through the leaves until I found mine. It smelled of rotting leaves and...blood. My stomach churned as the scent wafted around me. I had definitely done terrible things hidden in these trees.

Cloak in place, I decided to go straight back from the trees. There was no real path to follow so I figured direction wouldn’t make any difference. I walked for what felt like an eternity before I heard the whispers. It was more than just the one this time. They were layered and blended together so I couldn’t determine how many I was about to encounter.

Trying to be as quiet as possible, I hid behind a tree and peeked around the side. In a circle stood three hooded figures. It sounded like there were so many more of them. I was afraid there were more than I just couldn’t see.

They all faced each other, whispering their strange gibberish. I’m not sure how long I stood there before I realized there was something lying at their feet. It looked like a naked body; it’s back facing me. There was no blood or bruises so I didn’t panic at first.

What the hell are they doing? I wondered to myself. Was this some sort of ritual to induct this naked person into their weird fucking club or was it a sacrifice?

I didn’t get to find out right away. A hand came out of nowhere and covered my mouth. I tried to scream, but it came out as a muffled gurgle.

“You’ve been very bad Daniel,” he whispered into my ear. The sound wasn’t like a normal whisper, though. It was somehow airy and reverberated seemingly all on its own. Like we were in some echo chamber and I was completely unaware. It was unsettling.

I started to panic. How did he know my name? How had I been bad? I didn’t have the slightest clue what was going on.

“Coming here was a terrible idea,” his voice rang. “Masters are going to be most displeased.”

He pushed me forward to the circle of cloaks. They continued to whisper. The one holding my mouth shut joining the conversation. It still sounded like gibberish to me. I couldn’t see faces under their cloaks either. It seemed very odd for the middle of a bright day.

I looked down at the man at their feet. He seemed to be asleep or passed out. He didn’t move but to take shallow breathes. At least he was still alive.

“It would seem they have decided to make an example of you, Daniel,” my capture informed me. “You will be the sacrifice tonight. You’ll feed our happy little family, Daniel. It would be an honor if you hadn’t gotten too curious. Your death will be a painful one.”

I stopped breathing. I thought I was going to pass out, honestly. I’ve never been so scared in my life.

The three in the circle turned back to their whispering over the sleeping man. The one behind me lead me through the trees. We walked for at least half an hour before we came to a large, dark cave. Outside of the cave, he tied me to a tree. The ropes were covered in dried blood. I certainly wasn’t the first to be tied up here.

“Stay,” it commanded. “Be quiet.” I watched as he went into the cave. He was wearing the same cloak I had on, its hood up so I couldn’t see his face.

While he was in the cave, I played with the knots, what little bit I could. They were tight and I didn’t have much movement of my hands. Slowly, I picked at the first knot. I tried my best to look like I wasn’t up to something.

A few minutes later he came back out. He placed what I can only describe as a cloth bag over my head. It was black and blocked out all light. It muffled the sounds around me as well. I nearly jumped when he leaned in and whispered in my ear.

“Behave, Daniel, and maybe they’ll spare you.”

I could barely hear him walk away. I was too afraid to move for quite some time. I had no idea if there was anyone else around. They moved so quietly that I knew there was no way I would hear them even if I didn’t have the bag on my head.

I decided it was worth the risk. I was dead either way. I continued to pick at the knots. I only made it through two before I heard someone moving. I cursed under my breath. I knew I was caught.

“Well, well, well, what do we have here?” the whisper came. It was less airy than the previous whispers. It was on the verge of normal. “Have you been bad, boy?”

“What are you?” I asked, finally working up the nerve to say anything at all.

“You wouldn’t believe me if I told you. I am what you almost became. And trust me, you don’t want to be like me.” He was right beside my ear. “You don’t have much time. Run as fast as you can.”

I heard something slice through my ropes. They shook free and piled at my feet. I yanked the bag off of my head and looked for the man that had set me free. He had already vanished.

I started running in the direction I thought lead to the road. I didn’t make it far before I heard the voices. They started faint and grew until they were almost more than I could bear.

I watched as the cloaked men stepped out from behind trees all around me. I ran faster, trying to avoid them. I wasn’t successful. I got too close to one. It swiped at me, catching me with long claws as sharp as razors. I yelped in pain​ but kept running. It hadn’t latched on, just ripped open my skin.

Only random ones attacked me. I started to wonder if some of them were just illusions. There were more as I neared the end of the trees. Many of them ripped open my skin, but none of them had actually caught me.

I was almost out when the last one grabbed onto me, digging its claws into my shoulders. I screamed and tried to wrench free. Nothing seemed to work but I kept trying to move forward, out of the trees. Something told me they couldn’t come out of that forest.

As my feet barely inched out of the tree line, its grip loosened. Finally,​ I was free. I turned to face the trees and they were gone. The whispers stopped abruptly. Whatever they are, they can’t come out of there. They’re stuck for some reason.

I turned back towards the road and took in the damage. I was and still am bleeding badly. I’m sure there’s a trail of my bright red blood leading the whole way to my apartment.

I’m calling 911 now. I don’t know what will happen to me.

Just whatever you do...don’t go in there. I don’t know what they are or what they’re doing, but they’re not friendly. They’ll take you over and if you get too curious, you become dinner.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 201 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @riottales, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72