Beautiful dragonfly

in #norway5 years ago

Ever since I was a little boy, the big and cute dragonflies made a big impression on me. They are beautiful to look at with eye-catching colours, big wings, big eyes and an outstanding ability to fly. They can stand still like a helicopter, then quickly hop on in what direction they want.
I'm not an expert on dragonflies, but think this could be a Common Hawker (Aeshna juncea)
If it is the one that is pictured, then it is one of the most common in Norway. It is also common throughout northern Europe.
It likes to live near water and ponds. And preferably where there is plenty of vegetation, wood or shrubs. This species of dragonfly can also fly backwards, so the manoeuvrability of the common Hawker is impressive.
If the species is not a Common Hawker, I'm not an expert on these flying insects, I think it might be a relative, Blue Hawker (Aeshna cyanea), which also is common in Norway.
Maybe someone who is reading this an can help decide which dragonfly is pictured in this entry.
I hope the pictures are so good and clear that the species can be determined.

DSC_8032.jpg

DSC_7974.jpg

DSC_8018.jpg

DSC_7996.jpg

DSC_8020.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! She's really beautiful!

I've never seen such beautiful dragonflies.
You managed to take wonderful pictures.

Bravo! What are the wings fragile and translucent.
Even can see them wonderful intricate pattern.

Amazing footage. I especially liked the green leaf.
This range of colors.

Great photos, dear @Siggjo

It seems to me that it's all the same - Aeshna juncea


source

I appreciate that you liked the photos of dragonflies @Singa
I also think you are writing so beautiful about these dragonflies.
Primarily what you so beautifully described of the pictures of the wings and the beautiful pattern in these. You are very fluent in the English language.
Many thanks for your feedback on this post @ Singa

Your words are like balm on my heart!

Although I English language poorly taught in school.
And now I face great difficulties in times and articles.
But I very try ))


source

Even more likely it could be this subspecies.
It is called - *Aeshna grandis * (Linnaeus, 1758).

These dragonflies - the "Big rocker" the length of the abdomen reaches 49-60 mm, wings, 45-49 mm.
Wingspan up to 10 cm Wings yellowish, transparent, with brown streaks;
and the sides are reddish-brown with yellow stripes.


source

They have with your model is very similar to the picture on the wings )

I thank you for giving tips on what kind of dragonfly this is @Singa
It may be that this species is the one you suggest.

Hei, @siggjo. Det var veldig flotte bilder, men dessverre har jeg ikke kunnskap nok til å klare å se disse på artsnivå. Men det var klare og tydelige bilder, så det kan hende du kan få svar hvis du spør på nettsiden https://www.sporenbiolog.no/. Der inne er det noen biologer som er veldig flinke på identifikasjon av insekter.
Hilsen @valth

I think this is a brown hawker.

Thank you for your suggestion of which kind this the dragonfly is @Ocrdu

I had another look and I am now sure of it 8-).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74