You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Bit News - Music - Week 3

in #norway7 years ago

Allow me to introduce today a great British singer, musician and songwriter born July 21, 1948 in London.

Cat Stevens:



Steven becomes Cat. The son of a Greek Cypriot restaurateur and a Swede, Steven Demetre Georgiou was born in July 1948 in London. As a child, he studies in a Catholic school. "I also studied Buddhism, Taoism, explains the artist. I know they all have the same source, "says, full of wisdom, the one who once advocated a rather radical Islam. Teenager, he plays piano and guitar and performs in bars with some success. This is where fans call him Cat for his cat eyes. And when a producer asks him to record his songs, he says, "My name is Steven, but my name is Cat. "It's a nickname that suits me, he admits again today. Like the cat, I am very independent. If they annoy me, I run away. "

An international star. Very prolific, Cat Stevens released several singles in 1967 and two albums in one year, in 1969 and 1970. A triumphal decade begins. From her passionate relationship with the actress Patti D'Arbanville will be born her two greatest hits: the love song "Lady d'Arbanville" and "Wild World". An inspired composer and lyricist ("Father and Son", "Peace Train", "Morning Has Broken"), a pacifist and everlasting eccentric, he becomes one of the idols of the hippie generation. Until a bathing accident occurs in 1975 in Malibu. He asks for God's help and is miraculously saved from drowning. His brother lends him a Koran and it is the click: in 1977, he converted to Islam, changed his name in 1978 for Yusuf Islam, sells his guitars for charity and opens a Koranic school in the suburbs. London

Sort:  

I am familiar with the exciting story of Cat Stevens, thanks for a good summary of this fascinating story. It makes me think of what we have missed after his conversion to Islam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49