Just Got My First Silver Coins Ever!

in #norway6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171031_150439_resized_20171031_031327476.jpg

Just received my 2 Isaac Newton silver coins. I became aware of their existence after writing this post: Are you smarter than Isaac Newton? If not, do not think you can escape bubbles....

I bought the coins from The Westminster Collection International

It was a no-brainer to buy them as I have Isaac Newton in such a high regard, by being very versatile and mastering many intellectual fields. He was probably also an INTP, such as myself.

And how often are you able to buy a coin from the Royal Mint of the former Master of the Royal Mint?

This limited edition of UK 50p coin has been struck by The Royal Mint to mark the 375th Anniversary of Isaac Newton’s birth - one of the most famous figures to ever hold the role of Master of the Mint.

Pretty beautiful?

IMG_20171031_151135_resized_20171031_031407079.png

IMG_20171031_151158_resized_20171031_031423462.png

The coin also come with a neat little booklet about Isaac Newton’s life:

The best quote ever:

IMG_20171031_162339_resized_20171031_042405625.jpg

On how he introduced the gold standard:

IMG_20171031_151047_resized_20171031_031246206.jpg

They have a pretty limited supply (4000, more scarce than Bitcoin), so I suppose they can increase in value. Everything scarce increases in value, right?
Thus, I contemplated on buying many more. But, I am prone to addictions, so I am kind of glad I resisted my urge.

The only drawback was that I had to pay 25% VAT: Welcome to Norway!

Anyway, I suppose I get a new silver high, when my 5 Steem coins arrive from Ray Brockman.

Photos taken by @janusface on October 31 2017 with a Huawei Honor 5X (no editing)

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

Follow me: @janusface

Sort:  

Sexy coin !

Do you find Elizabeth II sexy?
Just, kidding! The coin is hot.

Yes, especially the back side! I might get one for myself too. I know this probably has more value as a limited collector's item, but any idea what's it's worth in pure silver weight? I think I am gonna get one for myself too regardless.

They are actually still available. It is a rather small coin, so the worth in silver weight is probably not that high. If you just want to hold silver i would recommend buying physicals, for example at bullionvault.com.

I was about order it and then I saw I need an extra 30 pounds for shipping. I will pass :(

And i checked the cost of the actual silver, yeah you were right not much, about 5 USD.

@janusface,
For me it's not a coin, it's history, it's a greatest memorial item of the most intelligent person in 17th century! I never heard about this coin before! Hope to give a try to buy one! Sometimes I might be lucky as yours! Great article and respect the way you think!

Cheers~

Yes, just my line of thought too. It is history and memory of one of the greatest minds of all time.

Yep looking good :D

Wow! Great coins janusface. Any scientist, or stacker, would love to have an Isaac Newton! Very happy there's Steem coins going to Norway :)

Cheers!

Beautiful coins i collect the UK 50p's but i havnt seen this one before! very cool history behind it aswell thanks for sharing, stack on! :)

Yes, I was very happy with this buy. I also just bought 2 piedforts, but they seemed to be sold out now. Steem and stack on!

It's lookin good!. I think I have thousands of silver coins :)

Cool:) I guess that is why you are 'stackin':) Steem on!

Congratulations on your first silver.

I'm not so sure about premiums on coins like that increasing because of scarcity though. There are a LOT of limited edition silver coins out there.

The only silver I know about which have really good premiums are rare silver eagles. 1994 and 1996 if I'm not mistaken. These are often worth more than 400% their value in silver (like other bullion)

I would look for those or go for numismatic rare coins like oddball morgan dollars etc.

But hey, silver is silver! Just be very careful that you're not paying much over spot price even for coins that seem limited edition. I cant tell you for sure that it wont go much up in value, but I know that there are ALOT of silver coins that are limited yet not worth much.

There is just inflation in the number of "series"-coins.

Been without internet for 4 days... Yes, you are right. That is exactly why this was my first silver coins, but these coins have a personal value for me. Not going all-in on silver coins though: Better to invest in Bitcoin, the new world currency:)

Wow..4 days..buddist retreat? @janusface

Not really. The apartment building have switched to fiber optic internet, without me getting a fiber, so I am without internet until Wednesday. After 4 days, I had no other choice than to stay at my mom's house until I get my fiber optic:)

Tuff choice :) No Internet, or move back home..But of course you chose move back home.

Very cool coin! Your going to love those Steemit coins also.

Hello @janusface,

"When you make a purchase from The Royal Mint you're not simply buying a coin, you're owning a piece of history."
Source

This is well true.The best example what you hold now. So, people who neglect that chance to buy the coin, I just remembered a quote:
"I can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies, but not the madness of people." - Isaac Newton

~@mywhale

"I can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies, but not the madness of people." - Isaac Newton
Yes, that is one of this best quotes. Thanks for the reminder!

@janusface - This explain how much you value him Sir... "It was a no-brainer to buy them as I have Isaac Newton in such a high regard, by being very versatile and mastering many intellectual fields. He was probably also an INTP, such as myself."

  1. You invested on Silver - Metals
  2. You invested on a Legend
  3. You invested on a Rare coin

So, you made a good investment Sir.... Nice you decided to share your experience Sir... To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thanks, I hope so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70