When Death Called, I Answered

in #nonfiction6 years ago (edited)

Pixabay
Sometimes the best feeling is nothingness

“Do they have two heads?” Dad caught the front of my shirt in his grip and pulled so hard my head was tipped back, my neck arched and my breath gurgled somewhere deep in my throat.

“Those people in your class passing their exams, how are they different?”

He released me with a sound of disgust. “Jesus, how are you even my son?”

Mom placed both hands on her head. “We had planned everything. Your father a Doctor, you a Pharmacist and you can work together in our new hospital.” She gasped and her eyes filled with tears. “But we can’t do that anymore because you failed. Emeka don’t you know you’re our only son? How could you do this to us?”

She slumped against the one chair in my room, muttering dire predictions under her breath.

Dad shook his head and his eyes slowly filled with tears. “You’re a disappointment and a failure. My only son. What do I tell my friends when they ask why you changed courses?”

I bowed my head, panting for precious oxygen while striving to avoid Dad’s condemning gaze. My tongue, swollen and parched stuck to the roof of my mouth. My hands hung by my sides, useless and numb. The taste of failure was rife on my taste buds. I stared at my feet encased in slippers.

Dad reached out to grab me by the neck again and shook me hard. I bore the pain of my head striking the wall behind without flinching.

I deserved it. I was more than a failure. I was nothing, a waste of space.

“More than six hundred thousand Naira we have spent on your school fees only for you to fail. Chinedu your friend is in his fifth year of medical school and he’s so brilliant we know he won’t fail.” He released me abruptly and ran shaky hands over his head as tears ran down his cheeks. “My own blood is a failure.”

Mom lurched forward, her wrapper swinging around her like a cape. “He isn’t even studying Medicine, just ordinary pharmacy, and he still failed. If it was Medicine nko?

Dad sighed and walked away to take the chair Mom just vacated. “If it was Medicine we won’t see him to pick before the mighty course would have pulverized him.”

Only my brilliant Doctor father would use pulverize in a heated discussion.

“What are we going to do now?” Mom asked on a plaintive wail. “I’ve been planning his graduation party.”

Dad dropped his head into his hands and moaned. “I don’t know, I don’t know. All those money wasted.” He released his head to stare at his fingers. “Six hundred thousand gone to waste like that,” he said with a snap of his fingers. “Because I gave birth to a weak son.”

Mom bent at the waist. “God is punishing us for something.”

Dad’s head jerked up. “For what and why?”

She stood and began taking off her clothes. I raised my head to stare and stiffened. My throat muscles tightened painfully and I looked to my father for help but he had a distant look in his eyes.

I swallowed. “M-m-mom, what are you doing?”

She unfurled her wrapper from her waist, folded it and placed it on the ground. Next, she reached for her top. A cold, desperate ache settled low in my gut. In that second, I knew I was looking down the beginning of the end of my life.

My legs went boneless under me. “Dad, pl--”

Dad jerked and launched himself at me. The blow caught me by the side of the face, snapping my head back. I hissed at the pain but kept my eyes open.

I deserved this. A failure should feel no relief from suffering.

“You want to turn me into a laughing stock?”

I blinked back tears. I mustn’t cry because I didn’t deserve the tears. With effort, I forced my head up to meet Dad’s irate gaze.

“Answer me!”

“No sir,” I whispered.

He threw up his hands. “Then why did you fail, were the exams so hard?”

I shook my head mutely.


Pixabay>

He grabbed my shirt and pulled me forward. Spittle flew from his mouth to land on my face. I stared into his eyes, absorbing the pain and shame there.

“Why did you fail?” he whispered brokenly. Suddenly, he pulled me tight into his arms. Over his shoulders, I stared at Mom through gritty, tearless eyes. I badly needed to cry. But I didn’t deserve a cry.

I brought this on myself. The least I could do was be a man and see it to the end.

“Why?” Dad asked.

When the first drop of water landed on the side of my neck, I was too absorbed in my misery to understand.
Dad pulled back and I saw his tear-drenched features. As I stared at his wet face, something inside me broke.

“Because I’m a failure,” I whispered.

Dad flung me off in disgust and turned away.

“I did tell you God is punishing us,” Mom said.

I dragged my eyes from my father to my Mom and my breath caught.

She stood naked before me.

Seconds dragged into minutes and I couldn’t look away. I drank my fill of my mother’s nakedness with my eyes. Equal parts repulsion and fascination ran through me as I stared at her flabby thighs, the soft curve of her stomach and the thatch of black hair between her legs. Pain and shame closed around my heart like a vise and squeezed. I lowered my eyes.

“Look at me,” Mom hissed.

Unable to speak, I could only shake my head. “P-please ma--”

“Look at me! Is it not the same number of breasts I have that Chinedu’s mother has? Then why are you failing when Chinedu is doing so well? Answer me if God is not punishing me?”

My father rubbed his hands over his face, cleaning off his tears. “Margaret wear your clothes. We are leaving before I say something I will regret.”

My eyes met my mother’s and I fought to draw breath. The disgust in them made my skin crawl. She should have beat me, raged at me, anything but this. I wanted to hide in a corner and cry, I wanted to cut myself and let my blood flow so I will be cleansed of this-- this disease inside me. I needed the pain to stop.

I remained standing by the wall, head bowed as they left minutes later.

Long after they were gone, I remained by the wall. I listened to the harsh pants of breath moving in and out of my lungs, supplying oxygen to my empty and useless brain.

A brain that had led me to this point.

A brain that made my mother display her nakedness to me.

A brain that brought shame to my family name.

Someone somewhere needed the oxygen more than I did. I couldn’t add wasting it to the list of my growing sins.
I moved. The insecticide I used to kill mosquitoes beckoned. I shuffled forward, grabbed it and lowered my aching body to the ground.

2,2-dichlorovinyl dimethyl phosphate.

I smiled. At least I still knew my chemistry. It would give me just what I deserved, a slow, agonizing death. I unscrewed the cap of the insecticide and brought it to my lips.

After the tearing, all-consuming pain faded into nothingness, Emeka smiled. Now he had peace.
A peace he didn’t deserve. But he would take it.

As parents, what length would we go to drive our kids to academic excellence? The answer, I think is subjective.
I’m guilty of this. As a teacher, I’ve been known to drive my students hard. For me or for them? I have no idea.
I don’t teach anymore.

Like I’ve said in a previous post, in Africa, depression is not a ‘thing.’ But I suffer it most times. I have low self-esteem. I’m paranoid about being hated even when I pretend not to care. I’m self-conscious about my looks and lack of intelligence. I pretend, but I have my moments.

This is a true life story. A friend’s reaction was, “The boy is not serious.” How serious can a person be to take his own life before he’s taken seriously?

I feel like shaking people who feel depression is nothing. Emeka’s suicide could have been avoided if someone had listened.

Remember, this is not fiction, I only tried to capture the moment as it might have unfolded.

I’ve been accused of my ‘lengthy’ posts. Thank you for reading this far.

signature.png

Sort:  

That is really sad. Wonder why Nigeria parents always do that.

Thi is so sad to read.
It was scary to just look at the title and a tag "nonfiction".

We are all too hard on ourselves!!!

Self-conscious about a lack of intelligence?! Oh, please!
I don't care about any other thing you say to yourself, but this one... if anything you are highly intelligent!
Yes, I'm qualified to say so - it's my vocation 😎

Plus, you're not a bad writer, either. You wrote some words on your keyboard, and they made me, a person on another continent, feel the exact emotions you wanted me to feel.

Give me a break, girl!
You're too smart to think you're not smart enough.

Your words are very kind. We've 'met' so I know how nice you are. Thank you.
His death is still painful.

This was a very sad and painful story. No one deserves to be treated like that, for any given reason.

You're a wonderful person, your texts are amazing and yes you're intelligent!! You DESERVE to be happy and to be proud of the person you are. Well, if you are not, I am!!! xxx

This is so sad as ambitions shouldn't have boundaries and we should encourage our younger generation in doing whatever they are comfortable and interested with

I could have been a victim of an average life, might not even have the opportunity of being a steemian,. All my father wants from him was to take after his occupation which is welding and iron bending, I learnt it but not satisfied with my life as a road side welder, I revolted and became a black sheep of the family. I took some nasty steps and today am an under graduate in the university. The mistake parents are making is that you can't map out your child's future, I have always been a dreamer as a child, I do see great vision. To the author, write now that the pen is rolling, keep the great job going

Thanks
Your story is inspiring.
Keep believing.

I think a habit Nigerian parents (I wouldn't want to generalize so I would just chip in majority) should adopt is actually listening to their kids.

They might be parents, but they don't have answers to every problem, it would help if they listened to their wards or kids. It would go a long way if they really listened to what they kids wanted to say rather than hear what they said.

They shouldn't assume the role of perfectionist, and demand perfection. They should not try to right the mistakes of their youth in the lives of their children - they are different people, with different paths to follow.

Sometimes they should put themselves in the shoes of their children, and try to feel what they might be feeling, or better, they should be gentle enough to build a relationship where they can properly relate to their kids.

Here, they were so concerned with what others would have thought of them; how the neighbours would mock them, they didn't consider what the real victim was going through...

It's terrible.

As always, your comment is just...right. Thank you

What a sad story. As a parent, I wanted my son to be happy and have a career that he enjoyed. Yes, school was important, but not everything. My son went to Boston Latin School, one of the top high schools in the US. (ranked #42 in 2017) It is the top high school in Massachusetts.

I saw the pressure some of the parents put on their kids. Some were grounded for low grades. Others were nervous wrecks, worried about their grades and didn't get to experience the fun of being a teenager.

My policy was what ever grade he earned was fine with me, as long as he could look me in the eye and tell me that he gave it his best at the time. Givin your best doesn't mean bring home A's in every subject. There were times when his best was effected by circumstances in his life and his grades reflected those facts.

Today he is a happy in his chosen career as a Mechanical Engineer. He still loves and enjoys learning.

This is beautiful. Thank you.
We Africans are quick to think such things only happen here, that the grass is greener on the other side.
Obviously not.
Sadly, I don't think this drive, the push on the kids by the parents will stop.

I believe it is a cultural. I coach a high school debate team, and have debaters from various countries in Africa on the team. They strive for perfection and losing a debate is considered a failure to them.

I teach them that FAIL means

First
Attempt
In
Learning!

I love that. True

Congratulations @vanessahampton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!


Your post has been upvoted by the @steemainsarena community trail.

Our goal is to support minnows on steemit to help them grow. You can join our discord server here;
https://discord.gg/zGvs8m

You can support us by donating steem/sbd or delegating SP to steemainsarena trail to acknowledge our mission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49