Drawing contest for the non artist #1: I can't draw to save my life... I just can't...

in #non-artist6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Source

These are the words that I often say to myself. I have some very artistically talented siblings. My eldest sister when she was young pursued a photography and film making career and was modestly successful and even had a photo exhibit that showed the many portraits she took,

My 2nd sister was gifted with golden voice and even trained under Ryan Cayabyab at one point. She had a perfect pitch and could sing any genre although ballads were here favorite. She also painted using acrylic and was very decent.

Our youngest had a knack for numbers that bordered genius level and a natural actor who loved joining declamation and speech contests. He had a natural charisma and an easy smile that people gravitated to.

Then there was me. Largely untalented, terribly shy and with siblings like that had low self-esteem issues. My parents would show off my sister's photos or ask my other sister to sing in events. My brother was like an Appolo and give a boyish smile that charmed everyone. I would be in the table eating just observing people.

It wasn't that I didn't try. I took workshops, joined classes and at one point even joined Glee Club. If I had a talent I would say it is being stubborn. Stubborn that handwork and diligence can eventually catch up to talent. Alas sometimes the gap is just too large.

So I grew up mostly saying I am not artistic. That I can't draw a straight line and that I can't draw a circle to save my life. I know rather self defeatist and negative but I finally accepted that drawing would never be a talent I can have.

I always tell @jacinta.sevilla how talented she is in drawing and how jealous I am of her skill and artistry and maybe she grew tired of people always saying that.

💢oh, you guys go ahead, I CANT DRAW💢
💢Yup, that's not for me💢
💢Can I draw a stick man?💢

She came up with this contest for Non-Artist like me and I almost did not make it. The past several days I was contemplating if I really wanted to join and showcase my non-talent in drawing. Then I just wanted to silence the voices in my head that said I can't so here we go!

STEP 1: Preparation

20180117_064339.jpg

Found two pencils with an eraser and a sharpener!

STEP 2: Warming up with lines!

Okay I had butterflies in my stomach when I picked up the pencil started to draw lines. I nearly stopped when some of the lines were crooked. I even wrote the word Why?? at one point but I gave myself affirmations like AJA! written on the upper right part of the paper.

image.png

I made the boxes and went with the different lines. I actually had fun creating the lines and remember a childhood memory of creating these line bases in paper and the aim was to destroy the base of your friend.

You would have the pencil in an upright position and make a "shooting line: from your base till you get to the other side and Most would have not remembered with because in the advent of handheld videogames those simple games are long gone.

Lines Challenge Unlocked!!

STEP 3: Shape of you and Shading

image.png

I was feeling confident even with the lines exercise had some crooked lines but then here it was the dreaded circle. A memory again of childhood is invoked as I remember art class and we were asked to make shapes and when I made a circle in the board it was slightly oblong in nature and remember the teacher berating me and my classmates laughing. So art at such an early age was difficult for me.

Anyway no point crying over spilled milk. I began the exercise and survived it and looking at it. It's not the best but it's mine. So not bad!

SHAPE AND SHADING CHALLENGE UNLOCKED!

STEP 4 Conceptualize it and draw it

image.png

A bit harder for me because I usually visualize with words first and then an image in my mind is created. I go back to a memory of long ago. A cliff, the sea are a part of it.

So having my base image I wanted to add more elements to it. Making use of the shading and different line techniques I used in earlier steps.

CONCEPTUALIZATION AND EXECUTION CHALLENGE UNLOCKED!!!

STEP 5 Elements of style

image.png

Here we are with the finished design!!! I added a mountain, some clouds, a few birds flying, a boat in the water and a strange pyramid like edifice. I even managed to create a stick figure of me hahaha

ART CHALLENGE UNLOCKED!!!

So there we have it my first attempt to draw after such a long time and here are several things that I learned:

  • It's okay to make mistakes you can use an eraser
  • Don't be too hard on yourself
  • if the lines are crooked, you can always repair it
  • Have fun and enjoy the moment
  • It's your own creation and be proud of it

Well I was so proud of it that I asked my Sister to wake my niece to show it and my China doll gave me the biggest smile and said she approves. It's pretty in her eyes. I couldn't ask for more.

Thank you to @jacinta.sevilla for hosting this contest :) Buzzer beater entry!!!Steemitfam.jpg
steemitachievers.jpg

Sort:  

It's good!!! Anyone can draw. Just a constant practice tho. Good job! :) Your china doll is so so cutie by the way! ♥️♥️♥️♥️

Oh yes she is a definite cutie pie and hopefull I get plus points hahahah Yeah it was not that uncomfortable after.

Congrats man! for another skill that you have unfold..👌

Hahha thanks I didn't win though too bad lol

This is so cute! Now you can't say that you cant draw because you already have your artwork! Natawa ako dun sa mga unlocked2 mo kuya haha!

Haahaha if I can't win by talent I hope to get some points on being funny :)

Lol man! I remember playing with my classmates that game, we call it starship where we draw a galaxy-like arena then 2 ships at both ends, then let the battle begin! Sure brings back memories. Nice post and I love your masterpiece, Leonardo Da Vinci would be ashamed to put his paintings side to side with yours! Cheers!

@jamesanity06

Yeah Starships!!! It escaped my mind when I was writing it hahahha I hope Cat and Vibs don't see this and mock us again lol.

Hala ka c @livsky oh..haanggang dito bumabanat. 😆😆😆 dumadami na cla mav..

Reminiscing the past? Way way back? 20 years ago po? 😂😂😂 just kidding... @jamesanity06

Hahahaha I kenat!!! Grabehan Na talaga ito!

Wahahaha Paging ate @cattt!!!!!!! Nagdrawing si Uncle. Wooooo! 😂😝😜

Hayup maka uncle!! Haha at nag tawag pa buhusan ko tubig yan pag nag appear dito haha

Waaaaaaa Im so proud of you hahaha. Doesn't matter if you dont have talent in drawing, your good with words and so many other things! And I look up to you, just so you know 😁
I didn't know how to draw too, I just kept on practicing 😁 still learning it! Anyways, i'm just here to remind you of the cat always supporting you! Bleeeh 😁

PS. Ang cute nunh bataaaaa sarap iuwi hahahahahaha.

Of course you look up to me I am taller than you hahahha. Thank you so much for the support pusa!

Maybe pencil is not your armor but you have intelligent mind kuya.
Idol kita. 😊

Lol I just try to write long to appear smart hahah don't tell anyone haha

Haha. Kahit naman mhaba sinusulat mo. May laman naman lahat . worth the read. 😁

Wow hehe great write up.
And thanks for making an effort. Winners will be decided tomorrow!
Thanks

Hahahhaa effort is the only thing I can do but it did make me a bit more comfortable. Thank you Jac for creating this contest.

That's what I like about Steemit creating a way for us to inspire one another to go beyond our limits.

Your chinadoll is the cutest...🤗🤗🤗 You have a multi talent apart from your siblings. Boss @maverickinvictus you are really one of a kind! Lodi!!!☺️

Lol only talent I know is eating hahaha

Talentadong pinoy po boss @maverickinvictus!!!😂😂😂

Tawa ako ng tawa sa Unlocked! Such a cute post. But seriously, you did a great job. Love the concept. So happy you joined in. Good luck! 🍀

hahaha glad you found it funny!! I'll try to get points for humor and cuteness of my China Doll hahaha. I almost did not make it busy was hanging.

you did great sir.. and the baby approves! cutie lady angel!

Thanks but I am still no artist hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65