Steemit's Nominate a Newcomer Challenge featuring: @ARTDESCRY

When I first joined Steemit in Nov of 2017 I was really confused since it isn’t anything similar to the mainstream social media like facebook or instagram. I never used Reddit before and so I’m not familiar with the interface and system that Steemit offers. It was a confusing time and I didn’t know anyone aside from the person who invited me join this platform (my sister).

Although she taught me the basics on how to navigate through the platform. During that time, the “Communities feature” didn't exist yet and I still don’t have a discord back then. And so I was really frustrated at the beginning of my journey since I find it really difficult to connect to the rest of the community. I’m basically an alien in the vast ocean of anonymity. It’s because most of the usernames sounds so anonymous (in my opinion).

After my first day in Steemit, I took a break for a week and forgot about it until my sister asked me about my experience with Steemit. She urged me to give it a second chance. And so I returned after a week of hiatus. I felt exhausted from my office work and so I felt the pressure of not being able to perform well in my blogging journey in the blockchain space.

Since I’m not the “long form” content creator type, my blogs tend to be short and mostly about my photography.

That’s when I started searching for contests related to photography and joined every photo contest available. It urges me to go out and explore the world of photography in the Steem network. That’s the time that I felt connected to a portion of the community. In the following days, my engagement with other photographers expanded my outlook for Steem and then believed it. I started trusting the Steem network and the community around it. And then everyone doesn’t seem anonymous to me. I became accustomed to the users that I interacted with and the contents that I consumed.

From then and until now, I am still actively participating in the Steem network through my content creation, curation and engagement to other users. The experience I had during my first month in my Steem experience has brought me the motivation to keep doing what I do on this platform; to participate & interact with others'.

So, I believe that the first month or two of “newcomers” are the crucial part of their journey here in Steem. If a new user didn’t have a good experience in his/her first month then the chances of retaining the user’s attention is slim.

For Steemit Team’s Nominate a Newcomer Challenge,I searched for new users using the following criteria:

  • newly joined user (1 or 2 months old account)
  • returning user who were idle before and are currently active
  • rep below 60
  • good content creators
  • honest users (non spammers)

So, for my first nomination…

@artdescry

image.png

I have chosen @artdescry for the simple reason that I was the one who invited him to join Steemit. I know him personally from and he’s my friend in real life.

@artdescry’s contents are about 3d visual arts focused in architecture which I’m really fond of.

His latest post:

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@artdescry/stucco-modern-house-new-renders-and-thoughts-about-time-quality-aspect-of-3d-rendering

image.png

Although being supported by other users, I believe he deserves more attention and I want to be a part of it. Steemit’s “Nominate a Newcomer” initiative is a great way to allow me to shill for @artdescry's post in an altruistic approach.


Once again, I’m grateful to the Steemit Team for hosting another meaningful initiative. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you for this great nomination in the Nominate a Newcomer Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58