Creating Elite Players: Newsletter Day 11

in #nomad2 years ago

Well, I hope you've been enjoying my unfiltered thoughts on life thus far. The truth is I've been holding back for a long time. I don't curse like a sailor (at least not all the time), but I'm very opinionated, and thanks to the antics of the so-called global pandemic, I'm becoming more politically oriented too. If it's a rude awakening to any of you that the meek and humble "nice guy" facade was a ruse, I'm sorry. I'm grumpier, funnier, and dirtier than most people know. I don't show that side to everyone, but my friends know. You and I are both better off if I'm real, though. People always sniff out the fake anyway.

"This is not what a true Christian would do" is some old bowl of snot I don't want to have anything to do with. You weren't appointed judge and jury by God, and if that's how you think, your brainwashing is worse than you even know. But I really don't need to go down that track right now, because what I'm about to share is going to increase your belief in the almighty, not diminish it.

So, what's the deal? If you've been following along, especially in the last few days, you're probably wondering whether I'm officially stranded in Lower Mainland, having to beg friends to sleep on their couch, find a church or homeless shelter, book a campsite, or sleep in my car.

For those who care about my well-being (not everyone, clearly), I found a basement suite at the last minute! You're either sighing in relief or disappointed that you can't continue to watch as this train wreck unfolds, am I right?

But let's start at the beginning. Last night, I responded to the one positive response I got in my search for a viable home. Remember my post from yesterday? I booked a showing within a half hour, visited within an hour, and even met the owners, who ended up liking me.

Of course, the outcome was still uncertain. They showed me that they'd been contacted by about 100 people about the suite. Damn!

But when I returned for the final night's stay at a friend's place in South Surrey, something in me said, "don't book an Airbnb."

"Don't book an Airbnb?! How crazy do you think I am?" I'd already delayed a day. Waiting any longer would certainly mean paying more or having to find a different place.

So, I responded to the quiet voice. I said, "You're going to have to make this clearer. It would be stupid for me to not book an Airbnb. I won't even have a place to sleep tomorrow."

Then, 20 minutes later, I got a response. "A good parent doesn't let their child go homeless, do they?" In quick succession, I heard additional reassuring messages. So, I didn't book an Airbnb.

I woke up today. No texts, no emails, no calls indicating what I was supposed to be doing next. But as I was packing up my room, I got a call. It was the landlords from yesterday. They'd picked me as their tenant! They said I could move in on the 15th!

Imagine if I had booked a two-week stay in Chilliwack, as I had originally planned to do. I would have wasted money and precious time I could have spent setting up my new digs.

If that doesn't warm your cockles, I don't know what will.

Right now, I'm sitting at a Starbucks. I just booked a four-night stay in Mission, where I'll be planning my move.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. Drop a comment so I can follow you and connect with you personally.

Today's Relevant Links

None!

Support the Development of This Project

I look forward to connecting with you!

Sort:  

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

You're amazing. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54