Standing Rock Music videos and Documentary.

in #nodapl6 years ago (edited)

This morning I am reflecting on the time I enjoyed on the Standing Rock Reservation at Sacred Stone Spirit Camp. The time was among the most pivotal in my life so far. I have been a lifelong activist, but the 24/7 nature of the prayer camps by the Dakota Access Pipeline was more intense than any of my previous actions.

The People Of The Fire are strong, they have been fighting for their survival since colonizers arrived in their territory. It’s been ongoing. They have won some significant victories, and suffered vast losses. Until you have lived cheek to cheek with the people it can be difficult to understand how their lives have been continuously threatened and ruined by the department of interior.

I wanted to create a long post about the experiences, but honestly the feelings are too difficult to express right now. In lue of a long post explaining the experience, for now, here is collection of songs and videos which convey many of the shared experiences.





As you go through your day, honor your ancestors, respect the people of the land where you stand, honor the treaties, take courage.

Music Videos











Documentaries









Thanks for reading this far!

If you enjoyed this post you may like one of the other blogs I have written.
You can find them here, or here, or here.



Check out my other social media profiles.
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Patreon



I am a member of these Discord channels which support community and connections on Steemit.
PALnet
SteemUSA
Steem Star Network



enter image description here



enter image description here



Sort:  

Thank you for being present at Standing Rock — this was a really moving, difficult movement for me to witness. I did some global meditations and sent a lot of love to the people who were there... and so I was sending support to you and others at the time. I'm saddened by the response to peaceful protest, but I am immensely inspired by those who stayed so long, for the protectors of the water, for the people of many tribes who came together, for the veterans... Such a powerful thing that happened there. Many blessings!

It was and still is a very difficult event. The people like myself who invested so much of ourselves in the movement have been heavily taxed by the experience. Many are still trying to recover from injuries they will carry with them for their entire lives. I am fortunate that all I have to cope with is the mental emotional scaring.

I have been trying to write about the time I enjoyed there, it's difficult and I often find myself in tears over the good and the bad. It's still largely beyond words as an experience. Thankfully the people who made the above videos and documentaries were able to better express the events. There is so much which isn't said, or under represented. I need to write a book about it... See if I can manage to write a blog about it first.

Thanks for your comment, and the good vibes. The thoughts and prayers were tangible at camp. I MEAN REALLY TANGIBLE.

I hear you. It still raises a lot of emotions for me and I was safely away from the strife. I can only imagine how the people who were there feel. So much conflict, when all we want is peace. I'm so glad the prayers were tangible for the people who were there, though. Thanks for telling me. Peace, my friend. 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75