Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

in #nocomfortzone6 years ago

I'll admit, I'm nervous about this. I don't know if I want to do this.

Then again, the whole point is to be uncomfortable. I don't talk about this much. I was inspired by @thekittygirl to write about my experiences. So, here goes nothing. The part of my life that I wish I could forget; the part that makes others stand back.

I was never quite anxious, more melancholy than anything. My whole life has been people prodding me to "Smile." For a while, all it was, was an annoying quirk that my mother could not stand. If I venture back, all my elementary school pictures are of me, a blank-faced six year old staring straight into the camera.

I remember jokes about how my staring scared my teachers.

I'd accept the way I was, if it didn't constantly get me in trouble. Being myself really only causes me, and everyone else pain. It was around the age of eleven when things spiralled down for me. I became less enthusiastic. My mother would ask a question, and I would reply in one word like always. I remember my mother screaming at me to "get over myself" and ignoring my request to see a therapist. A point that she had brought up the day prior.

Turns out, ignoring depression for three or four years is the worst thing you can do.

Through the course of maybe four years, I had been raped, demonized for being sexually assaulted, and had figured out I was gay all around the same time. The only help I recieved was through force. CPS had to force my mother to give me therapy. From there, I was hospitalized. That wasn't any better. The beds were hard, I rarely saw a therapist, the showers were cold,and I left with a fever of 99 degrees. My next therapists were unlicensed and ignored my moms furthering emotional abuse that escalated into neglect. Honestly, I didn't beileve all that "it gets better" bullshit. I still don't.

I had friends, but they left. "Suicide baiting". That's what they accused me of. These were the people that were lgbt like me; they had mental illnesses too. They were supposed to understand, but they didn't. It still hurts. I'm hesitant to meet new people. Especially the ones that seem happier than I. It seems those people have the least empathy.

It seems all my depression gives me is trouble.

Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

tom-barrett-525168-unsplash (1).jpg

Sort:  

BRAVO to you for stepping out of your comfort zone and posting this! I can identify with the feeling of "melancholy," as I experienced much of that while I was growing up. I am sorry for all the trouble you experienced, the sexual abuse, taunting, neglect... it is all such a tragedy. But talking about this helps us to understand you better, and I hope venting it has helped you, at least a little. Big hugs to you... 💙

I appreciate it kitty. After all, you helped me step out to even talk about it. My life makes people uncomfortable, I'm glad you were brave enough to comment.

Hey, we gotta stick together! 💙

I've struggled with depression most of my life too. One thing about being brave and talking is that you find there ARE other people who are similar to you.

I've found people similar, at this point, I just want someone caring.

I'm so sorry this has happened to you. hugs It's something I've dealt with as well, the people who pretend to have their shit together tend to be the ones you dismiss you for not pretending like them.

Know that on the Block, you'll never face being in trouble for something that you struggle with. You're family and we're glad to have you with us.

I'm glad I found the block. It really is like a family.

Congratulations @idenkcall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

God, I'm sorry. I know I wasn't involved and I hardly know you, but that's awful. I can definitely relate with people yelling "get over yourself." I struggle bad with depression too, but I understand it's very different and I can't quantify my pain with yours. You're very brave, and you're loved here <3

I appreciate the warm welcome more than you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88