A visit from my Mother & a golf course! (el cheapo)

in #nobidbot6 years ago

P1110151.JPG


Annual parents visit and things to do.


I have my mother and step father coming over for 2 weeks in July, Last year I entertained them for 1 week at the lakes, and 1 week in the city. My step father is a very fit 80 something plus year old, that likes to walk 5 - 10 miles per day and play golf also, so I thought I might as well make us a golf course to play on. The idea was originally 9 holes, though I am not sure I want to maintain 9 holes worth of grass.

The aim is to do this without spending thousands of them $ folding thingies they call fiat (pyramid scam) cash. The above picture is our courtyard, and that will be hole number 1, a nice short 100 yards or so, possible hole in 1 that will be a par 3. Before we go to hole number 2, lets look at the ultra cheap clubs I bought today, all second hand from a local charity shop, total spend was a measly $10 including 2 balls. The clubs are 1 sand wedge, 1 putter, and 1 oversize driver called slammer II that I have renamed to "guaranteed to lose a ball mark 1".


P1110301.JPG


Flag poles.


I am going to get some plastic drain pipe and cut it down to around 6 inch lengths and dig that into the ground for holes, I think I have some spare any way so cost = $0. The flag poles I am going to make out of wood, with old red cloth cut to size and stitched by the good lady of the house, so the cost is also zilch, nothing, not a darn Penney.


Hole number 2 is going to be mowed from this stretch below, it is going to go a full 90 degrees turn into my apple orchard, as there is a clearing in the middle.


P1110153.JPG


Hole number 3 is going to be a fairly straight effort of around 200 yards, though with a hidden water hazard to the right, that is more swamp than water, and definitely a do not retrieve the ball from here type thing. Here it is below.


P1110152.JPG

Hole number 4 will be below and the longest at 300 yards plus, this is the only hole where the "mk1 lose a ball" will be able to be realistically used.


DSC_0197.JPG


Hole number 5 will be below, and take in coming full circle back down my main drive. Around 250 yards, with a lot of tree hazards, I aim to play back to hole 1 from hole 5, making it 9 holes by cheating. :-)


DSC_0201.JPG


So there it is - a golf course for $10 plus grass cutting, I think you may agree that - that is a bargain indeed? I will update when I have my flagpoles made and the guttering in the ground, in the meantime I am off to cut some grass.


judge-2831353__340.png

Deliberators verdict = golfing on the cheap, I hope they appreciate my efforts.


Have a perfectly pleasant week, it is 36c here today and roasting hot, just the way I like it.


giphy.gif


upvote follow resteem.png

All photos are my own intellectual copyright.

Sort:  

That is SO COOL! (Not the temp, the whole golf course idea.) He is going to love it and be so very impressed. If we go with 'it's the thought that counts' premise then your gift to him is many, many multiples of $10.

I love making things on the cheap, no point in spending big bucks if I can make it for fun and for free.
Have a superb day.

What a fantastic idea! An 80-year-old guy who walks 5-10 miles a day? ...wow... I don't even do that ,and I'm more than 20 years his junior. What a lucky guy he is to have such a thoughtful stepson.

The course looks like it will be a blast. I loved all your economizing tips, too...

My mom lives in a small village in Debyshire, Aston on Trent, so they have a daily walk down the river taking in a canal also, they do a few stops at riverside pubs lol on the way and way back, summer or winter they are out and about, my mother is 75 also, you would not think it to watch her move or talk though.
I just cut half of the grass, we have some of the neighbours cows working on the other half, that will make interesting playing with cow pats all over the green lol.
Have a great week my friend.

Good for them! I'm so impressed. The wife and I are going to need to start following their example for sure.

Too funny about the cow pats...lol.... You have a great one too, and a very nice visit.

Maybe the mk1 lose a ball could be a good deterrent for Mr normal. 36°c is that higher then average at this time of year and is it very humid? Like your golf course idea.

I named that club correctly, 1st hit almost lost, second lost in a tree third hit lost, two balls down in 3 shots lol. Funny you say that about normal, I had the same idea, great minds think alike.
36c above average, not much humidity here, nice fresh dry 36c and my grass is now cut. :-)

Hope you did not find any of those lost balls with the mower. Great minds indeed :) Nice i am not one that likes much humidity when the weather gets hot. Hence a big reason why i moved to cooler Tasmania from hot humid Queensland Australia.

Congratulations @deliberator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Brilliant!
Watch out though. Before you know it Mr Normal will be selling memberships!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74