Training for American Ninja Warrior - Day 2steemCreated with Sketch.



Source

Hello hello!
So, ah. it's Day 2 of my training for my American Ninja Warrior and I'm sore already.

Yesterday's baseline testing did me over... which is good, it means I put in a fair effort, but I was pretty sluggish today... anyway, let's go through all the things:



My hilly 3.8km run was pretty rough... my quads and heels were sore from yesterday... but I still got it done. It was fast, it wasn't pretty, there was more walking than usual, but I did it in 28:21.20.



So, I'd normally do hill sprints to work on speed... but given that my heels, quads and glutes were supes unhappy with a dude, I just did some shadow boxing instead. I looked like a maniac, for sure, but got the heart rate up, my movements quick and kept my dignity because no one was home so no one will ever know...



Source



Ah, abs was this guy... and I'm already wondering if I've made a terrible mistake taking on Level 3. It was rough going and it's just Day 1 of this program.... ah yikes.



Source

I did complete it, but it took ages and I had to use pretty much all my willpower to not throw it in. It's good though, I need to build up some tenacity if I'm going to be amazing of obstacles.



I had a good amount of protein and healthy fats at about 1pm.
I actually wasn't hungry around dinner time... I'm still doing the 16:8 intermittent fasting (only eat in a midday to 8pm window) but around 7pm I grabbed some more food because I was worried I'd struggle tomorrow. Might have been unnecessary, but I guess I'll figure it out over time.



I woke up to my right elbow hurting, so I'm guessing it wasn't super rapt with my antics yesterday... or if I did something to it in my sleep... I really don't know with this guy. It's not always obvious if I'm doing something to cause the pain or if it's just a jerk that's loving #jerklyfe.

I did some jacuzzi time to try and settle it down and will do my stretches and exercises for it right now before I go to bed. My hands were definitely sore from yesterday, which is a little bit thrilling... I've missed strengthening my hands (which my physio warned me against doing any sort of gripping anything, even if my arms were straight).

Tomorrow will be way more exercises, especially some upper body stuff... I'm excited!



Images created by amazing Steemians Skyleap and Ryivhnn

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.382 which ranks you at #2275 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2286).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85