Aussie Ninja run on Boise, Idaho Regional Ninja Competition

in #ninjawarrior6 years ago (edited)


Soooooo, a while ago I did a competition in my local ninja gym (video is here) where somehow I managed to come first in my division... that placing meant that that I qualified to compete in a regional competition to advance to the next stage... It goes Qualifiers -> Regionals -> Semis and then the Final.

The Regional Comp I chose was at Camp Rhino in Boise, Idaho. I knew it was going to be tough because all my competition had also placed in their own qualifying competitions.

This video is my run.
There were 11 people in my division, and given the troubles I've had with my tendonitis, and the disruption to training that caused... I was super nervous that I was going to place 11th... not that there would have been any shame in that, they're all amazing athletes.

The rules are:

  1. They can set an obstacle course with 7-15 obstacles with at least 3 upper body, 3 lower body and one balance obstacle. This course was a monster 15 obstacles... I've never seen a course that long.

  2. Unlike American Ninja Warrior where if you fail an obstacle you're out... in this competition you attempt all obstacles and only get counted for the ones you pass successfully.

  3. Each competitor gets one retry. That means if you fail an obstacle you can retry it. The exception to this is the Warped Wall where everyone gets 3 attempts at it (if you use your retry here, you get a fourth attempt, not another 3).

This course destroyed me... I honestly didn't realise how out of shape I was... I was definitely breathing harder than anyone else who attempted the course today. Fortunately one of the ninjas there today got me a free ticket to a Spartan Sprint obstacle course race... which covered 5 miles (8 kms) so I'm about to introduce a whole lot of endurance runs into my training.

As it turns out... I came 4th... and missed out on placing (and therefore making the next comp) by 20 seconds (for a 7ish minute run)... I'm allowed to attempt another regional competition in another state... and I might, I just have to see if I'd be able to make the final or not (work might send me to Australia around the same time).

I honestly don't understand (again) why I ranked so highly, everyone was so good, people just kind of messed up on obstacles they can definitely do.

If you're interested in seeing a ton of other ninjas run, the Camp Rhino Facey Page has put up videos of everyone's run - link is here


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I honestly don't understand (again) why I ranked so highly

It is due to your hard work, consistency and lot of best wishes and prayer from .9 million steemians. All the best. Keep it up @aussieninja

Thanks Kamchore! I totally understand what you're saying... but my competition also works really, really hard too... thank you so much though!

Hard wood work still pays off. I think you should give more credit to yourself :) Some may have done their hard work but there are those will worked harder. Good luck with everything.

If that is being out of shape, then I don't know what I am lol! We went for a short walk/trek to a waterfalls near our place a few days ago and that got me sweating hard and breathing hard whereas I do not feel that way before. My companions did not even break a sweat!

Hahaha, I guess I should qualify my statement.... I am relatively out of shape, compared to all my competition. I've watched a few videos now, and most people few up that cargo net thing... where I definitely was dragging myself up.

That's the thing with fitness... you can only keep doing more and more... if you do the same amount, or do less, you end up losing your fitness.... fitness is so needy!

Ah, yes. It is a continuous thing.

Dude these competitions look so cool 15 obstacles sounds pretty long!

Also looks like you're rocking Vivobarefoot Motus?

You've got an incredible eye my friend!
I've basically been either bare foot or in the Motus for the last 3 years... they actually changed the motus from a parkour shoe to a long distance running shoe, so I bought up all the size 10s I could get my hands on (which were the first to be sold out almost everywhere). I've got one really old pair, 2 newish pairs and a pair of the long-distance (non-parkour) versions... so I should be right for the next 6 years or so. Hopefully by then someone else steps up to the plate.

My last comp was 8 obstacles.. so 15 felt pretty rough at the time... but I actually quite liked it in hindsight... it meant you could go for speed or obstacle completion... most comps it invariably comes down to speed.

Is the change from parkour shoe to a long distance running shoe with the most recent release(Motus II)? I bought a pair back in 2015, probably one of my favourite shoes ever. How are the new versions different?

It's ace you've got backup pairs! haha good going. 👊

Great dtube.. personally I like dtube. I always watch video..
Thanks for sharing this post..

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82