Escape the obligation - New Year's Eve Satire Poem

Tis the season with no reason, the new year began last week.
A trifling fact, to be ignored, just turn the other cheek.
Gather round the yule log now, or head down to the bar
Prepare to ring a "New Year" in, and get set to go to war
Within your mind. -Tradition says to make a resolution
Exercise, diet, read, start a r3VOLution...
To just survive another day and find yourself content
Is not enough this holiday! Find SOMETHING to repent!
At last I've reached a cronish age, so with no deliberation,
I decree "I am excused" and thus escape that obligation.

This is my entry for this contest:
https://steemit.com/nihilisticrainbow/@sature/new-satirical-poem-contest-still-open-nihilistic-rainbow

Sort:  

What a great little poem. I always thought news years should be on the solstice, but they love messing with time. Have a great new years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64920.85
ETH 3459.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30