New Original Poem: @sature poem competition is open again and is creative as ever!

in #nihilisticrainbow7 years ago (edited)

My last poem was written for @sature's #nihilisticrainbow poem competition and won 2nd place! I still would write even if I didn't win, but to be honest with all of you and with myself as well, I love winning things!

So I went back to check the new theme and it was: Endarkenment! What is that? Well I spent a bit of time rolling it around in my head as well, so I hope you enjoy what came out ;p

Here we go!

sunset.jpg
Blinded by the light


If you find yourself lost or unable to fathom
the modern philosophy preached by such Mad Men,
when everyone's selling a cure for what ails
but nothing relieves your sickened entrails,
when wise men turn foolish and the foolish called wise,
you must darken all input, shut the faucet of lies.

The same effect that a city has on fresh fallen snow,
the light from trash fires, trash philosophies set aglow
will drown out the light sent here from afar
and block divine messages sent from a star.

Endarken thus, ye of little faith in húman,
Endarken false lights, then stare at heaven.
See each twinkling star and ponder their weight,
from a distant perspective, ponder your own fate.
Endarken all input, opinions and spin,
Endarken and recognize the divine spark within.



Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

Shouldn't it be "Love and Dark to All"? With the topic being Endarkenment and all, hahaha.

I find your poem really powerful, and rich in truth. I know little about the divine, but philosophies and dogmas of terrible content and vision plague our globalized society more each day. Not because they're new are they good or correct.

Perhaps Endarkening their fire and letting it burn out is the answer.

May your dark nights help you to see the Light more clearly ;p

I remember that photo, Yellowstone!

You, my wonderful son, amaze me every day.

I'm SO SO happy I made you study the one subject that didn't come easy to you while you were growing up!

This is beautiful and deep and I love all of it and all of you!

Well, if anyone needed these words it was this optimist turn cynic. Great one @ecoinstant.

Never lose that spark my friend!

Greetings fellow homesteader.

There are now over 300 of us on steemit. You might have seen if you follow me that I am visiting everyone on the list I maintain to see who is still active and who isn't.

Do check out the latest list - there might be another homesteader near you also on steemit :

Initially I had no idea on how to write a piece on endarkment... But u have shown me that light could be achieved with darkness

Luckily, I didn't read yours before I submitted or I would have backed away...yours is very good!!

You sure have a wonderful way with words and this is a great poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65