Eight Hours Twenty Three Minutes

in #nightphotography6 years ago (edited)

That's how short the daylight is right now. I have to tell you, it's starting to get on my nerves! Today it was raining pretty hard but the rain let up this evening and I went down to the harbour to take some photos. I figured that although it's dark, perhaps the lights would make me feel better.

asl08vracb.jpg

There aren't as many boats in the Inner Harbour as usual. I think this is because a new marina has opened for the larger boats closer to the channel so the larger yachts are down there.

92faf61yeb.jpg

Above we see a different angle, looking back at the Empress Hotel.

ynd3cnfyp3.jpg

A closer look at the hotel from the street. Very few people or cars were out on the streets tonight. A half hour after arriving the rain set in again.

jz3rcwe3kd.jpg

Walking through the grounds of the Empress we head towards the British Columbia legislature building.

ixrezdvs9d.jpg

The legislature with Christmas lights and good ol' Captain George Vancouver up on the dome. That's all for tonight folks. In two weeks the days will start getting longer. I can't wait.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer

Beautiful light! Nice shot!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much Joseph!

Howdy sir Keithboone! wow that would be a little too short of daylight for sure but more is coming thank goodness. Those are really beautiful shots at night though especially with the Christmas lights!

Thank you @janton! Imagine living in Alaska! I don't think I could do it.

It's amazing that it's that different there, you guys are fairly close aren't you? To Alaska? I need to look on a map I guess!

I bet seeing all those sparkly fun lights lifted your spirit.

Thank you! Yes, and it does look a lot better in person than what I captured here.

I'm so glad you were able to get fabulous photos taken bfore the rain set in @keithboone. Your night shots are very impressive and ramp up the allure and beauty of Vancouver to new heights.

Have you been inside that superb Empress Hotel Keith? I'd love to see some images of the interior one day. (U & R )

Thank you so much, Trudee. I have been in the hotel many times, and it is quite spectacular. BTW, this is Victoria... on Vancouver Island... close to the city of Vancouver which is much, much larger, over on the mainland. I know that confuses just about everyone! :)

Oooooh wonderful! Does that mean we'll be seeing photos of the interior of this awesome hotel Keith? Locations do get a little confusing at times but what is definitely not confusing is the never ending beauty of Canada.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94