Leavetaking

in #nigeria6 years ago

labrador-retriever-2418176_1280.jpgpixabay:Labsafeharbour


I


I have forgotten the mysteries
Of the night sky filled with
The infinite beauties of nature.
I have ignored the stars
And the sparkle of their dance.
I have let the fireflies
Blink away into the night
And now only darkness
Brings itself to my sight.

I am leaving poetry behind.
My hands have crippled
And the words I once held
Within me are now dried husks
Of useless symbols and sounds.
My pride has deflated
Like a sterile seed before you
And now, I have become
Like a lone whistle of a dying wind.

Whatever powers I had possessed,
Whatever magic I had claimed,
They have faded away.
It is time I too fade away.

I have forgotten the sounds
Of morning birds and
The rustle of leaves bending
To trembling evening breezes.
I have lost my dreams
And now I walk penniless and empty
Through this maze and I now know
That it is time to take a bow.

I have to find another path
To seek the stars and
Seek love among the hips
Of the honeysuckle and hibiscus.
I have to make a different me.
This me has faded to black and white
And I have forgotten everything I used to know.


II


I cease to become.
I become only to cease to be.
I seize the moment only to be
Called a fool and seized.

I seize to become.
I become to seize all
That I can be.
I become then I cease to be.
What is the use?
What is the effort wasted on seizing
When I will definitely cease.
What the fuck am I saying?
I cease.


III


I am not a poet.
I never was, never will be.
I have pretended with words
I do not know, words
My lips will never speak.
I have claimed the sageness,
The eloquence of another
But now this other me
Has gone to sleep
And may never awaken.

I am not a poet.
I may have been if I had but tried
But see these words, the alphabets,
I have manipulated them
Within my head and yes
I may have surpised you
But now, I am just
A tired, broke and angry man.
Poetry is and was never me.
I cease. I am not a poet.



I HAVE TRULY ENJOYED MY TIME ON THIS BLOCKCHAIN PLATFORM. I HAVE WATCHED THE DRAMA, THE TIFFS AND BEEFS, THE WORRIES, THE JOYS AMD I AM HAPPY THAT I WAS A PART IN SOME WAY OF MAKING SOMEONE SOMEWHERE SMILE BUT I AM TIRED.

I AM POWERING DOWN ALL THAT I HAVE AND SLOWING DOWN ON MY WRITING. I HAVE MADE NOTHING HERE AND I AM LEAVING WITH NOTHING EXCEPT FRIENDSHIPS THAT WILL NEVER CULMINATE INTO FAMILY. THAT IS SAD, I THINK.

I THANK YOU ERODEDTHOUGHTS FOR YOUR SUPPORT. YOU ARE A GREAT MAN. I THANK YOU SAMEST FOR YOUR FRIENDSHIP, YOU HAVE A GOOD HEART. I THANK YOU TARAZKP, I WISH EVERY OTHER DOLPHIN WAS LIKE YOU. YOU THREE HAVE PERSONALLY MADE A DIFFERENCE IN MY LIFE. GOD BLESS YOU AND KEEP YOU.

THANK YOU DJOI FOR YOUR LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP, YOU GIVE TOUGH LOVE BUT YOU ARE A GOOD SOUL. THANK YOU.


So there's that. I am tired. I hope this blockchain thing makes you all rich and financially free. Make sure you all do good stuff with the wealth. Don't forget those who write good stuff and those who have no jobs to keep the lights on. I need to get a job. I need to come down from my blockchain high. Keep making them friends. Keep loving and falling in love. Keep believing Stay safe all y'all. Peace.

Warpedpoetic signing out. Namaste🙏

Sort:  

I’m sorry to see you go. A poet is one who writes with feeling, and you certainly do. Activity on the blockchain ebbs and flows, like anything, and friendships form over time. I’m sorry my dust vote doesn’t go very far, but I believe one day it will. You do what you need to do for yourself. Blessings to you and those you love. 💞

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you Katrina. I appreciate every visit.

I wish you will keep writing whatever you do because you have a gift with words. And it is sad that you're leaving us. Be well.

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.929 which ranks you at #3963 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3966).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 261 contributions, your post is ranked at #129.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79