DESERVING WORSHIP

in #nigeria7 years ago

received_10210234631164186.jpeg
image source

It was during a rehearsal, I think it was a Thursday one. We were rehearsing a song to minister and from rehearsing we started worshipping, for worship cannot be rehearsed anymore than breathing can be practiced.

In the mood or emotions or spirit of worship, whichever one you like to call it, a brother said something "We don't deserve God's love, He first loved us, once we realize that we don't deserve His love but He gave it to us freely, that's where true worship begins, in Spirit and in truth".

But I thought God made us deserving when He gave us His righteousness?.... No, don't do that, don't do it, just stay with the story, don't start arguing with me now, just stay and see what I found out.

I kept thinking about his statement, deeply, so when I got home, I asked my friend J. "Do we deserve God's love?" I added to my question referring to a certain scripture in the book of Galatians. He replied me like a father replies his 3 year old daughter that asked a where-do-babies-come-from kind of question, don't know why he has to act so old when he's not even 30 yet.

Well, let's get back to our discovery. "Does your son deserve your love?" he asked. Honestly I was quiet, because I never reasoned it that way, but I wasn't done, he asked me another question. "Does your son NOT deserve your love?".

If I thought the first question shook me, I was mistaken. "You neither deserve nor don't deserve God's love", he continued, "a parent is who a parent is to a child, not because of what the child does but because of who the child is".

received_10210234653164736.jpeg
image source

I understood what he was communicating but I wanted more and with scriptural backing. This thought boggled my mind over the next few days so I kept meditating.

Then HS spoke to me, first, He instructed I look up the meaning of 'Deserve'. Then, He asked me another question but this time, I felt like a daughter who brought a calculus homework to her professor of a Dad to solve; confident. "If a child was born into this world, and his father left an inheritance for him in his will, did the son deserve the inheritance or did he not deserve it? Would you say that because the child did nothing to build the inheritance, he doesn't deserve it and should not have it". I thought "wow" but continued listening and understood this.

You neither deserve nor don't deserve God's love and whether we do or not shouldn't be a basis for worship in spirit and in truth. To deserve something means you earned it, however the will nullifies the criterion of 'deserving' it's criterion is on entity; the existence, personality, quality and state of a being the person of the Father and son in respect to this will.

Hmmm, now I sound like a professor, lemme break it ~down~ in (I don't like down).

IMG_20170917_090720.jpg
image source

Worship shouldn't be about deeds but about entity. Worship is a relationship, children don't think of what they deserve or don't deserve in relating with their Father, all they know is "Daddy loves me" and even if it might seem that the reverse is the case in our society, well, thank God He's no man.

Worship should go beyond deeds, beyond "what He did for us that we didn't deserve" to entity, WHO HE IS, WHO IS GOD? THIS GREAT GOD, WHAT HE MADE US. It is because of who He is that the kind of things we're grateful for happen, it is because of who He is that we a

Sort:  

Congratulations @queency! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Sweden vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @queency! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60754.63
ETH 2349.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53