SAFETY TIP #6: 🌍 GRAVITY

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

Today, our hazard Identification is "GRAVITY".

gravity.jpg

Gravity is the force caused by the attraction of all other masses to the mass of the earth.

Examples of the effects of gravity is falling objects, collapsing roof, a body tripping or falling and drop objects.

images(2).jpg

Do you remember the old saying that says "what goes up must surely come down"? Yes, gravity is the reason for that statement.
You see, every object that is raised off the ground without support will definitely, of a free course, find its way back to the ground regardless of its weight, shape, size or anything underneath it.

images.png

Can you think for a minute what would happen if you are standing under a ceiling fan that is not properly hinged to the ceiling and suddenly drops on you?

images(5).jpg

A year ago, I had an incident in my home that would have led to a fatality due to this hazard called gravity. My six(6) months old daughter Ivana-wealth was sleeping on her mat right under the chandelier in my living room. Somehow, something prompted me to carry her from the living room and take her into her court in my bedroom. I believe it was the Holy Spirit that prompted me. So, I did as prompted . Three (3) minutes later whilst still in my bedroom, I heard a loud crashing sound from my living room. I rushed out from my room and behold my chandelier was scattered all around on the floor. It had dropped and landed on the exact spot where my 6 months old baby was sleeping three (3) minutes ago. I was dumbfounded and couldn't alter a word because of the thought of what would have happened.

So friends, you must be careful and conscious of objects above you, because they could drop. Make sure suspended objects are properly secured and if possible have a secondary retention.

images(4).jpg

images(6).jpg

Don't overstretch, trying to get items on top of shelves and cupboards.

Don't leave loosed items at heights like top of shelves.

images(7).jpg

Be mindful of overhead loads. Do not stand under suspended loads

images(9).jpg

Watch out for your steps when you walk to avoid slips, trips and falls.

images(3).jpg

As you carry out your duties today both at home or in your work place, especially in high risk job environments like offshore drilling rigs and construction sites, be mindful of gravity related hazards. Always ask yourself "what if?" "How can I get hurt in the task I'm currently carrying out?" Be very conscious of your environment. Train yourself to have a high sense of situational awareness.

images(2).png

"STAY ALERT, AND STAY ALIVE!"

-Shalom!

Reference: (eLCOSH : Chevron's Dropped Object Prevention Program)

Www.youtube.com

Google images

I hope you found this piece of information useful. If you did, please UPVOTE , RESTEEM and FOLLOW ME for more.

@nathanieloamhen (NEBOSH™ certified Occupational Health and Safety practitioner)

GENERIC.gif

Sort:  

Nice work @nathanieloamhen.
Keep up the good posts.
Following your blog for more.

welcome aboard! Enjoyed your talk as well.
Its really nice to see all this amazing people are joining steemit :)

This post received a 6% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @nathanieloamhen! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

welcome on board

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nathanieloamhen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 2.00 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nathanieloamhen.

I admire this article. Thanks for sharing

Thank you. Merry Christmas in advance 🎅

Same wishes too 🎅🎅

Always a good read bro @nathanieloamhen good to see you back

Yea I'm happy to be back too @thelovejunkie hoping to maximize the two weeks I have to make as much good posts as possible. Merry Christmas 🎅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60859.14
ETH 2917.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61