The Journal of a Mildly Frustrated Nigerian Entry 3

in #nigeria7 years ago

I am ill. I think I have malaria. Does malaria make you hallucinate, because I think I was hallucinating yesterday. Only been in Lagos all of six days and I’ve been sick for four, Lagos mosquitoes must be stronger than their Ibadan cousins. My temperature is sky high and my body can’t decide if it’s cold or hot, I can barely eat and everything I eat tastes terrible. But I’ll live.

I’m staying with a friend right now and the way they set up their food is very interesting; everything is cooked in advance, put into containers with appropriate labels and then frozen, so when you’re hungry you just go in the freezer pick what you want to eat and defrost it. Pretty neat.

I attended the third edition of the Lagos Comic Con on Saturday; I was thrilled geeks like myself now have an avenue to meet up and geek out. I wrote a post about it here. I have also been watching more movies lately, I am surprised at how good some movies made in the 50’s and 60’s are, Nollywood really needs to step up. I might start writing movie reviews soon.

I have been watching more cartoons lately too, the new cartoon network is crazy, who authorised these shows for kids? Adventure time, Regular show and the amazing world of gumball seem like stuff caved out of the imagination of a person high on LSD. I wonder how these shows would affect the thoughts of the next generation, they would be hella crazy.

It’s like there’s a new hurricane every time I peep the news. First there was hurricane Harvey, the hurricane Irma and just yesterday I saw something about a hurricane Maria. I wonder how they come up with names for the hurricanes, is there like a council that decides these things? “Let’s name this one after Mr Steve for leaking the tactics of the male gender in his ‘Think like a man’ movie.” And of course the women in attendance were on board because of what he did during the Miss World Pageant.

Happenings in the world right now are crazy indeed; Hurricanes abroad, floods and mudslides closer to home. I can’t begin to imagine what the victims are going through, I do hope they get the strength and fortitude they need to rebuild their lives.

Get thee behind me malaria, I need to write more posts. Hopefully I'll be back at 100% before the weekend, it's been years since I've been this weak for this long.

Sort:  

I'm back to say ... I may not have much clout now, but I got "connections." My UV is worth diddly-squat, but that nice one -- the little gift from the Panda guy -- I'm takin' partial credit for that.

He should have another curation list post going up on @unmentionable in a few hours -- or at least some time today. Check it out. You're a smart guy. You'll get what I'm talking about. Toss it an UV while you're there.

I hope you're feeling better. And if you are, get back to work. Remember ... I'm watching you. <3

from #theunmentionables

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

I contracted malaria in Malawi in 1994. Get quinine sulfate into yourself with the right timing. You need to kill the parasites before they lay the eggs, otherwise, you go through another round.

Thank you for the advice, i will make sure to kill every one of the annoying parasites.

Get well, for God's sake. If you quit writing I'll hunt you down (yes, even in Nigeria) and pound on you until you start again.

I'll be back when I've gotten some sleep. (Jeez, I hope I don't catch what you have. Go update your innoculations before you come near me!!) I've been up all night. I'm prolly as punch-drunk as you are.

So I owe you a decent comment when I can get it all together (again!) And on that pass, I'll UV you, too. I've got better manners than to just comment and skedaddle. Having been up all night I gotta recharge my VP. So I'll do that while I sleep. It ain't much, but you at least deserve it all.

I'm serious now. Don't be breathin' all over me. Not in your condition.

Hahaha, you got me laughing hard here. I'm already feeling much better thanks to you. Do get enough rest and don't go keyboard crazy, and I'll breathe all over you as much as I want (starts exhaling rather loudly )

Hope you feel better bud, Malaria is a serious thing, you should definitely go to a doctor if you think there is a chance you ave it. Stay healthy

Thanks friend, I am already feeling much better after taking some medication.

I'm concerned about you @lordmok how are you feeling and what are you doing to strengthen your body? We just met..I want you my friend to be around for a long time. Keep in touch. And do get some rest.

I am feeling better thank you for asking. I'll be around a long time don't worry, we certainly should keep in touch. Thank you for this.

@lordmok you must be well again!

I am already feeling much better, thank you.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Super nice post considering how you are suffering! I live around mosquitoes in Central America and try and stay as healthy and strong as possible. in case I should too catch the dreaded malaria!
I wish you speedy healing. Following you to read future posts too =)
Stay awesome!!

Thank you so much. Yes don't let those mosquitoes get you, malaria can be a bitch.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordmok from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28