Steemit In Nigeria: Strategic Approach That Proves Successful.

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

Introducing Steemit to people is one thing, getting them to sign up is another, yet getting them to be active is still another work. In this piece, as a follow up on my previous post here . I'll be exploring the strategies in introducing Steemit to Nigerians, getting them to sign up and helping them stay active.

IMG_20170929_164514.jpg

STEEMIT PROMOTION
In getting people in Nigeria to know about Steemit, we need some tools and ability to pass the information across in a way that is convincing to anyone. This is because most Nigerians are not familiar with online businesses, digital currency or cryptocurrency and blockchain. So, telling someone about Steemit here can trigger a lot of curious questions which the promoter must be ready to answer. Thus, a readiness to patiently explain is the first tool. Nobody in Nigeria want to venture into a business they don't understand, especially online because of some ugly experience in the past in the hands of multilevel businesses and ponzi schemes. I have personally met people that told me they are not interested in Steemit, even after telling them it's free to join. So, the fear is there, but if we are patient and committed, we can succeed as a team.
Another tool that works well is use of flyers, t-shirts, caps or business cards, designed for Steemit. It goes a long way in portraying the seriousness of the business to a new person before you start talking. People need to see something about what you are talking about. With such tools, you can easily get people attention, even before saying a word. I use a big banner to attract attention of people to Steemit before talking to them about it and it works a lot.

IMG_20170912_134310.jpg

HELP IN SIGNING UP
On getting people to sign up, there's a need to be physically present with them while they do so. Most of the people I brought to Steemit are those I personally showed how to sign up. It's easier in a gathering, especially in a class of students, where you can guide everyone step by step at the same time. Standing at the front of the class with your marker, you can actually become a lecturer of Steemit 101 or Steemit 111 for some that knows more about blogging. The last time I met a group of students, one of them called me to come back after leaving their class. Why the call? I didn't stay to show them steps in signing up because a lecturer interrupted. Personally, nobody showed me how when I joined, but it's amazing how people are scared of clicking what they never clicked before, lol.

IMG_20170912_133120.jpg

ENSURE THEY ARE ACTIVE
On getting them to be active after joining, a lot of encouragements and motivation is needed at the early stage. Personally, I know of people I joined with, who are no more blogging here. Reason? The payout is not worth the stress. Hold on! Nigerians are much interested in the pay for anything they join, but I'm surprise that the same people that waste their data on other social media without being paid will get discouraged by low pay in Steemit within a month. So, here's what helped me to stay and what I use to encourage people: take Steemit as another social media that you come to interact with people, if the pay comes, take it as an addition, not the main goal of being here. If we can encourage them to blog with zero focus on number of upvotes and payout, we can encourage them to stay. Also, voting and commenting on their content, giving them tips on how to create good contents can also help.
I believe every Steemian has monetary benefit at the back of their minds, not only Nigerians, so don't give me that look is you are a non Nigerian reading this. Who no like better thing!

I love you all!

Sort:  

Nice Post sir

It would be great to have more people around here. Nice post.

Keep up the fantastic work. You are doing a great job promoting #Steemit. Good luck with #promo-steem + #promo-nigeria. Well done. Stephen

Great post @greatness96. I for sure firstly came for the money. It takes a good 3 hours to do a post and I do get discouraged when the payouts is low. But I am here 4 months now. So I am carying on.!

You are right. When you resist the thoughts of not getting much, you have truly become a steemian. Steem on..

Hello sir, is this an ad for the @leadent360 account? Because you lost me when you used our logo and a separate banner saying Steemit Nigeria team...I am @ehiboss the founder of the Steemit In Nigeria (SIN), movement and I don't remember anyone in the picture as my team members.
Please explain ASAP!

I used the pictures as a follow up to show the possibilities we could harness here in my location. I never knew about SIN untill a friend told me today. I have been hoping to find a team to work with on a larger scale. Those in the picture are not team members, but students I met at Ken Saro-Wiwa poly here in Bori, Rivers State. Hopefully, I don't like conflict of interest and I used the pics as a way of encouraging Nigerian steemians to do more in reaching out to people about steemit. Thanks.

Hello @greatness96, thank you for helping build the steemit community. Your effort is appreciated. But as Nigeria community we are uinted and one. There is a nigeria steemit community in rivers state call STACH. They are doing great. Since you are in River state, will suggest to connect with @ejemai and work wity him. Lets work together and build a strong united Nigeria steemit community. Stay blessed sir.

Thanks a lot. I will

Well, I don't think the article in anyway make claim to be a member of the "steemit in Nigeria" crew. In fact, a read through his referenced article in the post has this part below

I personally love being part of Steemit Nigeria because I support the idea of helping Nigerians to harness their creativity and Steemit offers such opportunity free of charge. I love to work under this umbrella ( Steemit Nigeria) to bring uniformity and utilize the power of team work, thus a great success for all.

A full read of the article would tell you it is the case of a young man who is willing to pass on his knowledge of steemit to others.

I think where the problem is is an assumption that there should be only 1 umbrella for Nigerians on steemit. You need to understand that as you are promoting steemit, there are others who have heard of steemit and are nigerians and are making their own indivdual efforts to build a community; without even expecting any financial or whatever gain but they see it as a form of empowerment. That's what I see of this young man here. His articles stated what he did clearly and afterall, his banner only had "Nigerian team" on it. If I ask what makes a team? I believe it's members.

Nigeria is too large to believe every one would know about steemit through only the steemit in Nigeria team. The name "Nigeria" is available and unpatented for anyone to use.

I believe the young man should be commended instead for his solo effort this far rather than a bully sort of.

I so submit.

Thanks so much, bro. What I have been doing is sacrificial and some steemians outside Nigeria are offering their support. If you notice a dolphine friend from UK voted this post. We can always promote steemit in our individual ways. We are still Steemians and we are Nigerians.

I covet your consistency here bro. Steem on sir.

Thanks. I really aporeciate you encouragement.

No one is bullying anyone @dorth, I strongly recommend you choose your words you use in addressing others subtly, I asked a question and asked him to explain. If he didn't explain himself, the pictures and construct were misleading.
I love and recommend his effort, zeal and enthusiasm towards growing this platform, I was just trying to clarify his statements because I didn't want people to feel his was making statements for the Steemit In Nigeria crew members.
Thank you.

Okay. Good that we both have been able to make our positions clear @ehiboss. Good job you're doing with SIN. I wish you and your team the best.

Congratulations! You're doing a great job. Keep it up my friend! :)

Very good tips @greatness96. I have bookmarked your post for future use when I start to do physical Steemit promotions. Presently I'm involved with online Steemit promos.

I'm glad it's useful to you. Let's spread steemit to all. A lot of people have resteemed the post. You can do same. Thanks.

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4500 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

U deed a great job here. It is up. Upvoetd and Resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22