Nigerians Should Become Investors And Not Opportunist On Steemit

in #nigeria7 years ago (edited)

I pledge to Nigeria my country, to be faithful, loyal and honest. Ohhh.... Sorry about that, let's start business fully.



The community is growing bigger daily and everyone keeps saying there is a need for more delegation in the community. The truth be told, there is a need for delegations but which of the delegations are you expecting, is it the SP someone else bought with his/her money or the one you kept in his possession.

I learnt something today from @lukestokes which I learnt from his comment which i got a screenshot

Screenshot-2017-11-20  michelle gent.png

DO NOT DICTATE WHO SHOULD BE DELEGATED STEEM POWER

There is a difference between an investor and an opportunist on steemit. Truthfully, the reward pool is controlled by investors who vote and share the reward amongst other steemians. The painful truth is that their SP is theirs to use and theirs to decide who to delegate it to and who not to delegate to.

As a steemian, if you want to have the right to the reward pool, then go buy steem power with your Naira and stop making unnecessary noise. If you are voted by a whale or not, it is theirs to decide. You can not dictate to whales and investors what to do with their delegations. You did not get it for them, they did with their money.

CURATING NIGERIA

As curators for the community, we were delegated SP to vote the community so as to grow the community and we have been trying our best even though it is not appreciated by some greedy and uncultured people (sorry for using insulting words) who are bent at getting delegated SP for themselves so they can be called curators.

There is barely a day that the Nigerian curators do not curate post and there is barely a day that Nigerians don't get flagged by @steemcleaners for plagiarism, copy/paste, spam and tag spam.

We spend several hours reading the good, the bad and the ugly posts of Nigerians, then we have to curate them. This we do selflessly.
The Nigerian curators cannot vote all the posts because some of the posts do not meet the required criteria for upvotes which are listed here.

THE LIFE OF A CURATOR

For those who envy the curators and want to have delegated SP so they can be curators, let me help you out with the life of an average Nigerian curator using myself as a point of reference.

As a curator and a community builder, I am dedicated to the growth of my community and also to ensure that I utilise the delegated SP properly by voting good, quality and not plagiarised post. If you check the time of this post from Nigeria, you will see that I'm posting around 1:00 AM because I spend most of the day reading posts and curating them. I go to bed on an average day around 5:00 AM and wake up around 8:00 AM (Don't worry, I have been doing this for a long time, so I am used to it already). As a curator, I am online even when I'm sleeping having my favourite and the most visited page being https://steemit.com/created/nigeria. With the epileptic supply of electricity in the country, I have to run my generator for virtually 24 hours, which is very expensive. Steemians who know me personally can testify to the fact that my generator is always doing its duty 24 hours. With this, I hope you know that most Nigerian curators are now full-time steemians, with no social life outside steemit. I use smile network provider in Lagos, I use Glo, Mtn and 9mobile in Ile-Ife. Those who base in Ile-Ife and its environs can attest to the poor network connection, so I spend a whole lot on DATA subscription (Do not feel for me, I enjoy what I do and I do it with love for the community).

I see Nigerians posting on a daily basis, in fact, so many people post twice and thrice daily but as a curator, I get so busy with my duty that I skip posts for days. On days when I post, I do not vote my post more than 25% because the delegation was given to me with a responsibility to vote the Nigeria community.

There are other things I do not have to share, but can you give such sacrifice?

We Want Investors Not Opportunist

For heaven sake, written posts so it will be curated doesn't make you an opportunist, you become one when you start looking for how to gain unnecessary attention on posts so you can be heard, when you want to get delegations you don't own because you want to feel like the alpha whereas the curators are serving the community, when you attack those who vote because you do not get votes on your post which doesn't meet the criteria. One question I ask is "Do you own the SP or the delegated or do you account for the voting power used?"

I hear so many people saying they want to be curators, My question is "can they spare their earnings and time for the community, can they power down their earnings to run an NPP (non-profit project) on steemit so as to help others grow?"

Most Nigerian steemian power down their earnings and withdraw them, instead of majoring in growing their steem power.

You can only be wealthy by either investing your time or your money.

YOU MIGHT GET ALL THE VOTE BUT YOU CAN'T DEFEAT A UNITED COMMUNITY

For once you might think you are the Almighty due to certain privileges you get but one thing you need to know is that you cannot defeat a community.

A word is sufficiently enough for the wise.

I STAND FOR ONE NIGERIAN COMMUNITY

I do not believe in a divided nation or community, I believe in a community that stands as one. Please i want to advice that we shun every form disunity and move as one.



Being a curator and a community builder doesn't make you a God, we are all at your service.



Image references 1 2





REGARDS FROM @gbenga




steemit_icon.png discord_icon.png



fancy-line-divider.jpg


Thanks to @son-of-satire for the generic footer

GENERIC.gif
Thanks to @elyaque for my first badge

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-13 um 16.44.32.png

small-4605-5908eb3da2bfa.png

Nigerian community badge by @jodipamungkas
PACKET CURATOR NIGERIAN @gbenga.png

Badge by @royalfinest
gbenga badge from @royalfinest.jpeg

divider.png

Sort:  

2:30am - sleep off curating (because indisposed)
7:00am - resume curating

Based on your post, I think I sleep way too much! From the outside looking in, it's an envious position and i think i fully understand why it'll look like that. You can't see the big picture from the outside; the best you can get is a myopic view. That's except they're willing to LOOK with the intent of SEEING.

You're hands down the most hardworking person I know in this community.

Well done

Thanks a lot boss for the compliment.

Based on your post, I think I sleep way too much! From the outside looking in, it's an envious position and i think i fully understand why it'll look like that. You can't see the big picture from the outside; the best you can get is a myopic view. That's except they're willing to LOOK with the intent of SEEING.

They don't know at all. They are looking at it from the outside

I am quite new in this community but I can say I have learnt a lot within few days. I have had mixed emotion ranging from excitement (When I got few dollars from my introduceyourself post) to disappointments and I even almost felt depressed when my well researched and written posts got almost nothing. I understand more now and this your post just threw a new illumination into my slightly darkened sphere. Keep doing what you do Gbenga. We all know the corrupt and greedy nature of some Nigerians, I bet we will be alright at the end of the day

Thank you very much, Sir. I hope you grow well on steemit.

Hello @gbenga

You have said it all in this post - not everyone will be curated, and that's just the hard truth. I could remember around August when the community curation service was just set up, there is no day that I don't get curated. But with number of Nigerians multiply at alarming rate, I don't get bothered anymore when my work isn't curated because I have understood that that's cannot be possible anymore...more so when you consider power situation here.

These days, I do my best to ensure my work come up to the standard of other curation communities like @steemstem and @steemiteducation as well as utopian-io based opensource contribution. I think fellow Nigerians should consider targeting other communities as well than these perpetual complaints.

Curation isn't easy. And I can attest to the fact that you guys are doing your best.

Keep supporting the community. Kudos to you guys.

@eurogee and @euronation

Wow! Thumbs up @gbenga. I totally concur. The steemit community in Nigeria is growing, i think every single one of us should read this.
A lot of newbies are misinformed, it's the reason why they pull some of the stunts you just mentioned, thanks for sharing.

Wow..... Well written. Learnt alot from this post. Thank you.

My pleasure. I am glad you learned something

I agree with you, Nigerian should invest have more say on the share of the reward pool.
@maryfavour made a similar post here asking when the likes of Dangote would invest in steem.

But sadly the cryptocurrency, still viewed as a sort of ponzi here is not helping matters. I think the more cryptocurrency is accepted in the mainstream as a means of payment, the more investors would key in into investing in cryptocurrency.

Loading...

Well spoken, if we have 100 of post like this
many people will have change their perception about steemit.

I hope we learn to grow ourselves and not put up unnecessary stunts

Also thank you for sharing i learn alot from @lukestokes post yesterday, i hope to start seeing more post like this.

My pleasure... Success on your steemit journey

Thank you boss

The Nigerian community is vast and we have to always ensure everyone gets voted, although truth be told, not everyone can get it and some won't even get at all. Why? Because they have zero presence and interaction.
Three hours a day is the average sleep I also get and sometimes people think we are just people who are finding it easy or mining gold as curators, they need to understand that they should be focused on growing their community rather than destroying it.

Ask not what your country can do for you, rather what you can do for your country.

That quote above applies to Nigeria as a community on the platform. Must you wait to be freely delegated before you can make a difference? Will the delegation bring out what is not there? This is why our politicians fail when they eventually get into power, because they feel they have to hold an office to make a difference.
Before there was a Nigerian tag, were people not surviving? Do they, can they or will they ever know the sacrifices we as curators undergo just to boost the communities?

I hear so many people saying they want to be curators, My question is "can they spare their earnings and time for the community, can they power down their earnings to run an NPP (non-profit project) on steemit so as to help others grow?"

I love the beautiful question attached at the end, like I said when you see people complaining all the time, you need to checkmate them, they become poisons in power. How many times have I called you in the middle of the night to discuss plans to grow the platform? How many times have you done the same? What about @fisteganos, @ogoowinner and @destinysaid who tirelessly work to grow Nigeria.
People have bastardized alts to cause division in the community for selfish reasons.

There is barely a day that the Nigerian curators do not curate post and there is barely a day that Nigerians don't get flagged by @steemcleaners for plagiarism, copy/paste, spam and tag spam.

The worst part is they still do it after repeated warnings.
Curation might be an entitlement, but it is not a birthright.
Nigerian curators have one of the highest number of daily curated posts despite Nigeria NOT being the largest community on the platform, yet we have probably the highest number of dissatisfied authors on the platform. They think steemit is actually that easy right, how many of them went months on end without a decent potential payout? How many of the do proper networking? Most will expect manna to fall from heaven and blame authors who take extra steps to get curated which is wrong.

My social life is zero, it's work! work!! work!!! and someone will be planting the seeds of discord all around the community, the person will be hiding behind alts to cause ruckus here and there. Retribution is coming.

You have spoken well. We need to appreciate ourselves and not cause division amongst ourself

Investment. I was really thinking about that investing in steem too, but no cash.

The Nigerian big people, they are quite stingy, so you might get. So we are stock with been opportunist for now. But we still making efforts to get investors.

We need to become investors ourselves... We can only grow ourselves

So how do we do that since no cash now?

You can invest your little into SP....

Oh i forgot to mention. I appreciate the curation work you are doing on our post.

My pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44