NHS Good News Stories

in #nhs6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2463.JPG

Last night I received a text at 3am from my sister who had major surgery on Monday. The operation went very well, she said. She's lost a kidney and an adrenal gland, but the plan is for her to be discharged from hospital on Friday and to be cared for at home.

This is from a diagnosis of a malignant tumour just before Christmas. The minute it was identified, the NHS swung into action and she has had perfect care. Central to that was meeting the surgeon who would perform the operation. I could tell when I saw her that she felt confident and reassured.

We've had fun because the surgeon told her after the operation that, "going on the state of the organs you have left you've led a very healthy life." I'm still giggling now.

My neighbour next door has had two new hip joints in the past year. She's pain-free and has full mobility again and is looking forward to going back to teaching english as a second language as a volunteer.

The neighbour next to her has had corrective surgery on one of her feet to relieve pain and help her mobility (and also the wearing of nice shoes). I met her partner yesterday, he's said she's nearly healed and goes for her final check-up at the end of week. He wanted to know when she was getting back to cooking, "after all," he said, "let's get our priorities right" and winked as he walked off.

I've had an early diagnosis of a long-term condition that hasn't responded to medication as expected. Within three days of the review, I had a doctor's appointment to investigate further, with blood tests the following day and x-rays two days after that. An appointment for a further, more in-depth set of tests will come in the next week and then I return for the results ..."but come back to the surgery straight away if you feel worse or you are anxious."

It's extraordinary how it just all works.

Sort:  

People complain about the NHS to no end but they do what they can and your stories prove it can work also I hope everything goes fine with the results @shanibeer

Thank you @simonjay. I'd rather have it than not.

I hope everything goes fine. All the best.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you 😊

I hope your condition can be managed well, @shanibeer.

I think it's often 'awesome', but there's also an element of luck. In my opinion suffering from a long-term condition (where we live at least) can mean 'patchy' care. Our @tinygalaxy had an appointment yesterday and by far the biggest issue was trying to park near the hospital. With reduced mobility this was an issue for us - and trying to get different departments working together is often hard so 'luck' plays a part.

Thank you 😊
I appreciate your frustration, I've had some of those experiences myself, that's what made these all the more lovely.
This may not work for you because I know you're in a different environment, but a couple of times I've found myself in a similar situation about parking near a hospital. What I've done is found a place where I can park easily and safely and then ordered a taxi for the remainder of the way, and back to the car again afterwards. The taxi fare wasn't much more than the cost of parking! Hope things get easier for you and @tinygalaxy.

Thanks for the idea, @shanibeer - we normally find ways when places are not accessible :)

And thats the point. Obviously the medical skills are incredible but getting an organisation of such a size and so complex working at such efficiency is a miracle in itself.
Best wishes to the pair of you. Medical professionals are bloody amazing :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

The NHS is brilliant and we are very lucky to have it. Good to hear your ongoing care is so well organised.
That doctor has a great sense of humour about your sisters remaining organs. :-)

It is important that we make a check up every year to find the problem as must as possible.
I hope that your sister be better and fully renovated soon. Maybe, she could start a blog here on Steem to tell us about, what do you think?
Cheers!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your hopes. Well, you know, I did tell her all about steem when I went to see her ... as a distraction! She's very interested and I'm sure she'll be here very soon :)

Yeah... a distraction could help her to be better son, well, at least helped me when I was in bed for a few days... when you have some distraction you do not think in bad things.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

!sbi status

Hi @shanibeer!

  • you have 241 units and 530 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 3495423004281 or 1.947 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.389 $

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66