Fantasy Football Week 2: All About The Benjamins!

in #nfl8 years ago

Fantasy Football Week 2: All About The Benjamins

I wanted to preface my fantasy football update this week by calling attention to a few other bloggers here on Steemit that have been providing excellent football related content.

@daut44 and @team-leibniz have been documenting their daily fantasy football activity, analysis and methodology. This is invaluable content! I can't stress it enough. Both of these guys are providing information that you would otherwise have to pay money for. If you have any interest at all in dabbling in daily fantasy sports, you absolutely HAVE TO follow these guys.

A couple recent posts:

@team-leibniz: Week 2 NFL Daily Fantasy Football Analysis - Positions, Salaries, Projected Point Values, Rankings and More!

@daut44: Week 2 NFL DFS Results: +$49,918.18

And now... what would football season be without a football pool?!

@ats-david is organizing a weekly football pool, which is free to enter for any Steemit user. Just comment with your picks. I thought the idea was worth supporting, so I've actually put up 5 SBD per week for the rest of the season to sweeten the pot! Check it out.

@ats-david: Steemit Winner-Takes-All Football Picks: NFL – Week 2

Follow @ats-david so you can get in on the action when he posts the week 3 pool!

And without further delay... my week 2 results.


My team simply dominated this week. After Keenen Allen was lost for the season with an ACL, I expected some pretty dismal results from my WR corps. I figured I was in for a pretty long season.

I might still have some tough weeks ahead of me, but this was anything but. Carson Palmer and David Johnson both had star performances, but the real story of the week for my team was the explosion of offense from Kelvin and Travis Benjamin.

Kelvin Benjamin

He continues to impress me. His stat line was impressive this week. 7 receptions for 108 yards and 2 touchdowns. The touchdowns make the difference for his fantasy production, but what impressed me the most was the following catch:

This is the sign of a competitor. He stays with the play until the very end and makes a remarkable catch. By sheer force of will, he was able to turn what should have been a broken up pass due to stellar defense into a highlight reel catch. This is why we watch the game.

Travis Benjamin

Travis Benjamin had one hell of a game. His fantasy stat line in my league was 6 catches for 115 yards and 2 TDs. But that doesn't tell the whole story. I didn't get credit for it, but he also had a return touchdown! What a performance.

Carson Palmer

After a lackluster week 1, Carson Palmer really put my mind at ease with a 308 yard, 3 TD performance. I was waiting to make this post until the NFL posted a full feature on his week 2 performance. I can't wait any longer, and some of his passing yardage was earned by David Johnson, and you can see that in the video highlighting Johnson's play in the next section.

I chose this video to highlight his incredible accuracy throwing deep. Obviously a quarterback can't do this without a receiver capable of stretching the field. But so many quarterbacks will throw this short, resulting in a blocked pass or immediate tackle, or long and out of reach. Here he hits his man perfectly in stride.

It's a thing of beauty.

Carolina Defense

Elite defenses put points on the board. They cause turnovers and sometimes they even recover the ball and take it home themselves. That's what Carolina did early this week. They ended up with 1 TD, 2 INT, and 2 Sacks. Their touchdown comes early in this video, but if you watch the whole thing, you can even get some bonus footage of Kelvin Benjamin. :)

David Johnson

This guy is a monster. That's all there is to it. He didn't get into the end zone, unfortunately. So his fantasy points were actually just below expectation with 98 receiving yards on 3 catches, and another 45 yards rushing. If he had punched one in, it would have been a monster game for him... and he came close. Still an amazing performance, even if he didn't carry the team this week. Though I expect that there will be games in the future where he will be the difference maker.


I was obviously really pleased with my week 2 results. In fact, due to the high point total I achieved, I'm currently sitting in first place in my league. But the future is very uncertain, because regardless of how this one week went I am losing a lot of production from the loss of Keenan Allen. But I have faith in my team, and I think it has some potential. I will keep you all posted, of course!

Sort:  

Very nice what you have posted, excellent videos

So what you are saying is... players with benjamin for a last name... are total fantasy studs.

Based on my sample size of this one week, yes absolutely. :D

Following! Glad to see a fellow fantasy enthusiast on here! I did a post a while back about DFS strategy. Do you play DFS?

Oh, no. I don't do daily fantasy sports at all. I'm a traditional fantasy football league player. Now, it's a 12 man league with a $50 buyin that is mostly winner take all (I think runner up gets his buyin back)... So there is something at stake.

Nice job. Hey guys check out my NFL POWER RANKINGS for this week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53