Next Colony: The Rise of Jack Steel Chapter 5, Page 12

nextcolony512.jpg

First Class... no, wait... Cadet First Class... Do I say my name? I don't remember!... Okay, I think I got it... Cadet's Log Stardate... Damn, what's the Stardate?... Computer, what's today's Stardate?

Stardate 97284.8

Okay, I think I'm ready now...

Cadet's Log Stardate 97284.8 - Starbase Genesis2

My name is Jack Steel, I'm a First Class Cadet and this is my first recording. As an Officer of the Genesis Project, it's been recommended that we keep a regular log of our thoughts and activities. I'm not used to this, so I find it a little weird. I'm used to reflecting in silence in my quarters. So this goes out on the galactic blockchain? What can I say? Well, for starters, I'm really enjoying this strange planet. I'm not permitted to go out beyond the restricted zones until the biologists and geologists have studied the safety of the plant and animal life. It's like being in a science fiction movie! The air here is incredibly clean, and I feel some improvements in my health. I seem to have more energy, and I feel more positive; a certain lightness. Perhaps it also has to do with the change of environment, and the fact the things are going well for our colonies.

Apart from that, I've been thinking a lot about the current situation concerning our explorations. I've asked the Captain if he would see me today, so I need to go, as he's waiting for me. I hope he likes my ideas, and I hope that things can improve if he accepts them.

End Cadet's Log

base.png

The Base at Genesis2 had the same design as Genesis1, as there is a universal blueprint for the setting up of colonies. This made things easier for Jack, as he made his way through the familiar looking corridors. As always, Cadet Steel greeted his comrades as he briskly walked to the Captain's quarters. Captain Dixon eagerly awaited the young Cadet, as by now, Jack Steel had a reputation for being an extraordinary man of insight. The Captain's door sounded, and the command to enter was given.

Good morning, Captain!

  • Cadet Steel, it's a pleasure to receive you! I understand you have some ideas you wanted to share with me.

Yes, Sir. I have spent these days thinking about what you said concerning the exploration missions. 8 days is really inefficient, if you think about it.

  • I certainly agree with you there, Cadet. What would you suggest to make things run more productively?

I was thinking that these Missions with the Explorer I are using up valuable mission slots that could be used, instead, to run pirate missions...

  • We prefer to call them Resource Recovery Missions. We don't want to sound like a bunch of marauders.

Good point, Captain! So instead of occupying all the those slots with Explorer I Missions, you only send out the Explorer II for the search of new planets, and the rest of the slots for the Resource Recoveries, which can then be used to build the Explorer II, and Phase Up our Mines and Depots.

  • The problem there, Mr. Steel, is that our Transporters are very slow as well. Granted, it's faster than the Explorer I, but it only gives us an advantage of 2 sectors per hour. Besides, there aren't many abandoned planets close to our coordinates. Going out further would land us right back in the situation we're presently in, taking days to complete a Mission.

I've thought about that as well. I remember the Chief Science Officer at Genesis1 talking about some advanced Transporter blueprints that he had, or could get a hold of. He never went forward with those, because of the Commodore's Top Priority Order to focus on the Depots, and not ships.

  • Sounds very interesting, Cadet Steel... Computer, open a channel to Starbase Genesis1, Research Center.

Channel ready

  • Captain Dixon to Officer Brady.

Officer Brady here, good to hear from you Captain, how can I help you?

  • I have a familiar guest with me who's eager to talk to you.

Is that so? I wonder who it could be?

Chief! Oh, sorry, I mean Officer Brady...

Don't be silly, son; you can always call me Chief! Makes me feel important.

Jack Steel looked over at the Captain for a confirmation of his blessings. In essence, he wanted to be a good Officer. The Captain smiled and gave him a nod of approval.

Well, you are important, Chief! Listen, I was talking to the Captain about those Transporter blueprints. Do you remember?

Of course, the Transporter II and III. Would you like some more information, Captain?

  • Yes, Officer, I would appreciate it.

Okay, the Transporter II should be coming onscreen now.

transporter_ii.png

This beauty has a phenomenal speed of 8 sectors per hour...

  • 8 sectors!!!???

That's correct, Captain. And a cargo capacity of 400.

  • Extraordinary!

I knew you'd like it! And now you should be receiving the Transporter III onscreen.

transporter_iii.png

This massive monster has a speed of 3 sectors per hour, and a cargo capacity of 1200.

  • 1200!!!???

I see you're impressed with my young Mr. Steel's mind, Sir.

  • Highly impressed, Officer Brady. I'm very grateful for your assistance. I'll inform you of our plans, Captain out.

Well Captain, do you see where I would like to go with these intuitions?

  • Absolutely, Cadet Steel. Excellent insights!

I imagine you need to run this by the Commodore?

  • No need, as we are not under any Top Priority Orders. But I will inform the Commodore of our intentions. For now, we need to wait for our Explorer I ships to return from their missions so that we can replace them with these amazing Transporters. Good work, Cadet Steel! I really appreciate you sharing these ideas. Please feel free, anytime, to let me know what's on your mind.

Thank you, Captain. Before I go, I was wondering if I could have permission to study the Explorer II at the Shipyard?

  • Absolutely! You're a First Class Cadet now; you don't need my permission to enter into most areas. You walk freely where you like, and our crewmen will let you know when you have gone beyond your rank. Good day to you, Mr. Steel!

Good day, Captain!

As Jack made his way back to his quarters, he felt a tremendous sense of satisfaction. Cadet Steel was indeed a man of insights, and one of his great passions was to share those intuitions, and to see them received with gratitude.

ncbreak.png
nc-banner.png

Recently on Next Colony

ncbreak.png

www.creativecoin.xyz

ccc.png

https://www.steemace.io

steemacebanner.jpg

ncbreak.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @famigliacurione! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @famigliacurione!

You just got a 1.96% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89