New Zealand - South Island Trip - 1st Stop Queenstown

in #newzealand6 years ago (edited)

It is my first post here on STEEMIT and I include few pics from my trip around South Island in New Zealand. I will be posting photos and tips/reflections about the spots as well as the setup. It was my first proper run with Fuji setup. I took Fujifilm XT20 with XF18-55mm lens for general use, Samyang 12f2 for wide angle and XF55-200 for telephoto/wildlife/compressed image. I found this combination of lenses a perfect one for travel. Ended up swapping them quite a lot to get most out of every location. I also had DJI Spark drone for extra flying footage with few interesting stories related to it. But first few Fuji shots from Queenstown, New Zealand which marked the start of the trip.

queenstown-6.jpg
This is unprocessed pic made with XF18-55mm showing Remarkables - the Mountain range. They really look like made out of cardboard and dropped on the side of the Wakatipu lake.

queenstown-8.jpg
Queenstown Summit. Makes really nice walk especially on clear day. Sunset is amazing. Photographed with Samyang12f2

queenstown-7.jpg
Here is probably weather station, i find it looking like space station straight from Star Wars, very sci-fi. Next to Remarkables, really shows the size of the rock! Making this pic made me really appreciate XF55-200 (the newest acquisition of the three for me), as lens allows to see things really close by and compressed. I was using it to spot details in landscape, architecture besides shooting birds (as below).
queenstown.jpg

queenstown-3.jpg

This one was shot from our hostel window. Amazed how well 55-200 performs even in dark condition. This one was shot at ISO1250, 164mm 1/3 sec f4.6.

queenstown-4.jpg

Here is one more from the Samyang12f2 near the lake showing how crystal clear the water is. I find it unbelievable, most of the waters of lakes, rivers and the sea in New Zealand are so clear.

queenstown-9.jpg

Here is the shot of sunset capturing the city as we walked back from the Summit.
I will post more pics from Fiordland and Milford Sound in the next post.

I'm new to this platform so any feedback is really appreciated.
Give me a shout in the comments below if have any questions or comments.
Cheers!

Sort:  

Greetings koshimazaki.

Lovely...beautiful photographs and information regarding the film, camera and drone.

Welcome to Steemit.

As far as tips for newcomers.......regarding tags.....look to see what topics are in the top five and see if any of yours would qualify....if there is one or two....list those first....ie...photography, travel.

Cheers.

Thank you and thanks for kind words. Thats really useful tip! @bleujay

Beautiful photos and write up. Loved that you included the technical details of the shots.

Thanks for kind words @abhi46 i feel like i can put even more technical details under each pic.

Congratulations @koshimazaki, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

That second shot is very impressive

@harveyword thank you, thats my wife's, think your comment will make her really happy :)

Very pretty ! Welcome to the community and keep up the good work! I love photography myself, so check out my blog !
I'll give you a follow
Greets from Belgium
Komia

Thank you @komia ! just followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38