The Wearable Arts Award Show - always a WOW on my yearly calendar!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #newzealand7 years ago (edited)

After a pretty tiring year and a difficult last couple of months, I’m finally starting to feel like my energy is coming back.

I’m cheered by thinking that we might even get a summer this year. We’ve had a few sunny days already after a year of constant rain. Though admittedly it is raining again today, and forecast to rain till next Friday. Still, if we get some sun next weekend, I’ll be happy.

So anyway, where was I? Oh yes, the Wearable Arts show.

wow1.jpg
Image Source – WoW Website

A world class theatrical, creative and fashion event that has become a yearly highlight for myself and three girlfriends.

We start out with brunch, then head on over to the show. Today’s brunch was at Dockside restaurant on the waterfront. I had a salmon fillet with prawn, broccoli and a yummy sauce. Then a gluten free chocolate torte with chocolate crème brulee. No photos, sorry!

The show itself is hard to put into the words. It’s always an amazing theatrical event with music, dance and amazing lighting – and that’s just what is going on as a backdrop to the showing of the costumes. The main purpose is to showcase innovative costume design from all around the world.

Here’s a video, from WoW’s Youtube channel, giving a taster of some of what we saw. The three costumes in the opening scene are from previous years but the rest is excerpts from this years show.

Every year there are six categories. They always have Aotearoa (another name for New Zealand), Avant Garde and Open and the other three change. This year they were Red, Science Fiction and Illumination Illusion (using ultraviolet light).

This was the winner of the Aotearoa section by Dutch artist Saar Snoek. It’s called Human Nature and represents a coral reef.

wow2.jpg
Image Source – Radio NZ website

You can see the winners from all the categories here on the WoW website.

If you’re planning a trip to New Zealand at any stage, the show is always on at the end of September, early October and is well worth planning to see. The Wellington weather isn’t all that fabulous at that time of year, mind you, but hey, you can’t have everything.

There are a few more photos in my Steemit post about last years show.

And I’ll leave you with another video form WoW’s Youtube channel. This one is called “Taking WoW to the World” and is just two minutes of highlights from previous years.

Thanks for reading and hopefully I’ll be back up and posting regularly again now!

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Sort:  

Awesome! glad you're starting to feel a bit better, sounds like a nice outing with the girls. i remember entering a trash to fashion in high school with a huge gown made out of wine casket bags lol, so West Auckland of me! It was actually petty cool. WoW is next level incredible though - love it!

Some of the costumes were using recycled materials, so you're heading in the right direction ;-)

dammit if i had known i could have turned up in my road runner mascot..meep meep, or just gone and hung out with @sift666 - did he go?
16118681_1753565168295365_1935996170_n.jpg

No, he's not into shows. But he would have been mightily entertained by you appearing in the road runner costume.

Nice all pictures shearing thank you pelese my vote

Thank you for the terrific post..

Really great and fantastic show! The winner is very amazing! Thanks so much for sharing the videos! :)

Yes, it really is a stunning event. Highly recommended.

I would love to see the show someday! Thanks so much for your recommendation! ;)

Oooh That looks FAB!

Did you go to this show last year? I seem to remember a post on this show and I thought then it looked like a fabulous thing!

I'd LOVE to visit New Zealand - and if we do, I just HAVE to meet you! <3

I'm so pleased your energy is returning... <3

It really is fab, and yes, I did write about it last year too.

I would be so disappointed if you came here and we didn't get to meet! If I get to England, visiting you would be right up there on my list too. One day...

One day soon! Xx

WOW is the right title for that, what a cool tradition to have with your girlfriends!
Was the coral reef meant to represent what's happening to it?

Great post !!! I SO want to go to this. We went to the WOW Museum in Nelson, which has quite a few of the costumes from previous shows...it was amazing. I can only imagine what the live show looks and feels like. Will just have to put some $$ away and make a week of it next year. Great to hear you are feeling better.

Congratulations @kiwideb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52