My first recruited Steem user! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #newuser6 years ago

On my last day in Budapest after checking out and waiting for my Blablacar (car sharing service) ride to leave later in the evening. I stumbled upon this guy who saw my hair and asked if I was from the US. because a lot of people are rocking the Mohawk there.

We started chatting, and in the end I mentioned Steem and Steemfest where I was coming from.

It turned out that the guy from New Jersey was actually in the know of crypto and had even heard of Steem.

I explained (to the best of my ability) all the corners of this 'thing' and telling that "Steemfest was the best thing ever!" he got really excited and I offered to make him an account using Steeminvite and giving him a small delegation to interact with the blockchain.

Long story short, say hello to

@esiasemanuel

_20181123_205800.JPG

He hasn't actually started posting yet - he's still getting the feel for this place - but what I heard, he might start posting some cool shit at some point.

In any case, he's a cool-ass dude for what we got to chat and know each others for a few hours before I left Budapest.

God bless Mohawk, otherwise Steem might have gone without one extra potential user.

Btw, I set @esiasemanuel as a beficiary for this post, so 50% of this post's rewards will go to him so he can get started to gather some Steem Power of his own.

Remember to buy some while it's cheap! Same goes for all the users who might have troubles with not having enough resource credits.

Sort:  

It feels great when ya add yo the fam!!! Good job brother.

First time finally after a 1+ year pf Steeming!

Don’t worry....I’ve brought like 11 people on. Only 2-3 post and it’s sparingly. It’s hard to get folks to stick. Good job either way!!!

Yeah, it's the sticking part that's gonna be the real challenge.

People are generally lazy and expect the world. I’ve brought on good people that spend a ton of time daily on Facebook and give up here in no time because “dey ain’t earnin nuffin”. Morons. Lol

People are generally lazy and expect the world. I’ve brought on good people that spend a ton of time daily on Facebook and give up here in no time because “dey ain’t earnin nuffin”. Morons. Lol

I think it's about psychology of motivation. So, when people do their Facebooking, they enjoy it because they do it for their own will, not for a reward - that is the logic behind it at least, because people don't literally tell themselves this story. But when suddenly people come to Steem with this old programming and they only earn pennies, they start to compare it to a job, probably because earning money is usually associated with having a job. And when their Steeming activity doesn't earn a shit compared to a job, they lose motivation - it doesn't make sense to keep doing this. Of course, it doesn't make much sense to think this way, because the most people won't get a job to replace their social media activity anyway.

It gets some (or a lot) of adjustment to get used a new kind of reward model where people can earn something without having a job per se, and most people just don't get over that transitioning phase.

Make a lot of valid points my friend. I wish people would give it a fair shot. It definitely takes time and effort to make an impact here but I’ve found that connection far more real and rewarding that Facebook. I barely use fb anymore at this point.

Yeah, I only changed my FB profile picture because I was trying to find couchsurfing host in a group - I had my joker costume on the previous profile pic so I put something bit more representable instead, lol.

I will upvote that! Good on you for spreading the good word. Make sure you resteem his first post so we can all catch it.

Make sure you resteem his first post so we can all catch it.

I surely will!

Hey bro :)
I hope your traveling is going smoothly! I've been still enjoying the hell out of Budapest lol.
Thanks for the warm welcome!!! Much muchappreciation!!!! My first post was crazy emotional to write but it felt so good to express! It was kinda like writing in a journal, really therapeutic!
Peace, Antwan

Writing tends to have a cathartic nature, yes.

I'm still in Oradea waiting for a better weather to go hiking. Enjoy Budapest! It's great to have you here :)

That is so cool, @celestal, spreading the Steem love all around Europe.
Welcome, @esiasemanuel, hope you have a blast! :D

I'm not even that big on promoting, but this time it just happened :D

I know what you mean :) You just start talking and one thing leads to the next and bam, another Steem user :)))

good luck my Steemit friends

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You ROCK!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.088 which ranks you at #3307 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 3308).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72