You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why free downvotes are a good and necessary part of STEEM

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)

I do not know what to say. I come here as I can manage but always return to a lovely community. I got a huge whale flag just because I had been resteemed by someone else. Honestly it feels unsafe and discouraging. Downvotes should be a serious thing for copyright infringements, inappropiate content, and not personal vendettas and disagreements that end up shooting people not involved in those wars. I was backed by the community but others were not that lucky.

Sort:  

They shouldn't be used for revenge, that's true. And especially not shooting bystanders. Unfortunately there will always be immature people. Good to hear that the community was there for you!

Yes, It felt really warm that candidly people supported and even counteracted it. Still as I say the only reason I found is that I had been resteemed and all the posts in the feed had been flagged. My post was already doing well but there was another user that had just returned to steemit after almost a year, just saying hi back so it felt so unfair. So yes, it's such a delicate thing. Not being around as much as I'd like to I often miss the gist of these feuds. I think there should be a way that if clearly a downvoteis obviously in bad faith, would be able to counteract it like if too many says a downvote is not valid it should stop taking effect, but yet again that would be some kind of filtering which is not the spirit of this place either, guess it's complicated hmm dunno it's kind of weird but some people in these flag wars have significant sp and can wreck your ship not being a creator's fault.

I fully understand, someone I resteemed has been targeted too. So I won't resteem any more. I don't care for my own posts, so that's fine, but that was below anything I would have expected before.
It's sad. And complicated :)

I'm actually grateful to have been resteemed :) meant only someone liked it enough to share so still take that as a compliment. Who could have guessed? sigh, yes, complicated. But yes, it makes you feel a bit uncovered and in the need of treading lightly, should not be that way.

Here we can appreciate the great weakness in the downvotes system.
It has great weakness, it is undeniable.

This weak point is causing great damage and must be corrected immediately. I do not say that the entire system is wrong, but it has a crack and there is leaking everything good.

Harmful people have already found this crack and are using it to harm. But this damage affects STEEM and STEEMIT even more than the victims of downvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63