You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why free downvotes are a good and necessary part of STEEM

in #newsteem5 years ago

"You digress. We've been talking about self rewarding until now."

Hmm, I thought we were debating flags.

"An upvote is not a tip someone gives, but an expression of opinion that the content deserves a reward."

"Oh man. I give up. You keep arguing with faulty comparisons to justify taking funds from a community pool for yourself."

Sheesh, let's shoot for some consistency, okay? If an upvote is an expression of an opinion and it's not a tip, then surely a self-vote must also be an expression of an opinion and not the taking of funds. I mean, this is according to your logic, it's not funds right, it's just an opinion?

"Let's agree to disagree and save each other's time instead of running in circles."

Fair enough. I think for today we've reached the stage of beating a dead horse anyway. Thank you for the comment about Ayn Rand, I take it as a compliment because she was a free-market genius. So, I just watched a brief overview of her philosophy of objectivism. I don't think I'll go so far to say that altruism is evil as the video suggested, but now I intend on researching it further to find out why she thinks that way.

Backs slowly away from the keyboard, agreeing to disagree.

P.S. Thanks for the chat. Maybe in the future we will
find something else to either agree or disagree on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87