You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why free downvotes are a good and necessary part of STEEM

in #newsteem5 years ago

We seem to miss that the goal of Steem is to tokenize the internet. It is NOT meant to be a blogging platform, that was just its first use case.

While I will agree that tending was trash before, even now that it’s “cleaned up” I still don’t care about it...mostly just whales upvoting whales. I’d prefer to use my upvote to support the people who support me rather than glom on like the rest to get rewards for clicking a button.

I also think that the flippant attitude of users toward the countless downvote trolls is shameful...sure, they don’t do much damage, but they certainly hurt people’s feelings, especially noobs and small accounts who don’t understand why they’ve been downvoted (no reason anyway, just because it’s fun and free).

I, for one, am trying to combat them instead of brushing them off as an unfortunate consequence of “making Steem better.”

The belief that downvoting someone upvotes everyone else is just a rationalization to let trolls live with themselves.

Sort:  

Who will want to tokenize their platform when they see that the first proof of concept leads to self rewarding of big holders instead of engaging new participants?

There are many more people to support than yourself and your friends or the whales in trending. Both actions don't help with growing steem.

Your comment seems to be the rationalization here.

Not sure, precisely, what you think I'm rationalizing, but I guess we can agree to disagree.

I’d prefer to use my upvote to support the people who support me rather than [something else that doesn't help with retention of new users]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97