Bleeding Reputation Scores

in #newsteem5 years ago

Just a couple of days ago I wrote about my impressions regarding the trending page and how the recent hardfork and probably current prices of Steem have affected it. It is much more cleaner in my opinion than it was a few months ago and wort checking it once in a while. I really haven't seen any garbage post over there lately.

There is still plenty of garbage, meaning plagiarized content and spam, if you check the new posts once in a while. The latest mixture that you can scroll through. There is a much stronger reaction to it also. People are flagging it because, from my understanding, after the latest hardfork and changes regarding Steem you get yourself a share of flags besides the normal voting power so people can freely cast some flags once in a while towards shit around here.

Not against that at all. I understand that people want to make money using the blockchain and creating content but I don't agree that every post deserves anything through upvotes. You can't plagiarize news or share some pic and get a few Steems for it. There are people who really put effort into their posts and deserve a good share from the rewards pool, at least in my opinion. Thus people making wheels spinning for Steem seem to be rewarded, finally, while spammers have a totally different faith. Not all of them of course.

You can tell that by looking at one's reputation score and see that he/she's been choosing the shortcuts to get some Steem. I know that it can be bought by using bid bots but I don't think such people that spam the platform are doing that, simply because they don't have that much Steem to do that. I haven't flagged any post for a while and I am not incentivized to do that. I simply ignore what doesn't deserve my appreciation and give mine to the ones that deserve it.

Now, do I feel pity for the ones getting flagged? No. Do I consider relevant the reputation score? No. BUT, the ones getting a piece from the rewards pool pie should deserve it and do something for it so for the ones getting flagged I can only recommend start changing their attitude towards Steem. It's not the best or the most used social media/blogging platform but it's a good one with lots of potential and it should be treated this way. Stop spamming, stop plagiarizing and stop begging! You can do better.

police-869216_1280.jpg
image source

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97