I Just Got a Cease and Desist Letter for my Pepe Meme!? On Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

Yeah so apparently I am on the radar for ripping off the meme Pepe which was one of my first posts here on Steemit and posted in other places as well as used in other ways. I made a handdrawn sketch and colored it in quick and posted it to Steemit and then I made one on my computer. Then I put the Meme on some "Limited Edition" items that I sold on eBay. So I guess I didn't just post a meme using Pepe but technically profited from it. So I am guessing this guy who "owns" Pepe is targeting those who have used this meme on "social media" and I am proud to say we made the cut my STEEMIANS. I looked on YouTube and basically heard exactly that. So this man who "owns" a cartoon frog 🐸 (actually now that i think of it Kermit is fairly important to own and have control of annnd is IP...) sent me a letter from some folks named Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLC who has sent me a letter saying to "cease use of", "proliferation of" and "profiting from", yada...legalese...yada with 'PEPE THE FROG'. Definitely surreal. I am thinking of framing it or drawing a meme on the back of the cover page and listing it on eBay. For the Kekistanis, this Pepe is for you.

You may be able to find me on eBay but you will never be able to prove this is my Steemit account. Mwahahaha!!

Please UpVote, Comment and RESTEEM and with TODAY'S SPECIAL DEAL if you Resteem and Upvote I will Resteem and Upvote one of your posts, just comment the link and let's make it Steemy. Steem on!

Sort:  

Congratulations @wwamd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

As a military veteran, you have been added to the @chairborne aka the Veterans Project following list. Our goal is to support military veterans and serving members on Steemit. You can learn more about the project here.

This is not an automated message and we are sharing it with you for your awareness. Please let @guiltyparties know if you wish to be removed from the list or if we added you in error. You can find us on Steemit.chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63